IT ServicesStaff

Data Storage

Frequently Asked Questions

Who can request a Group Workspace?

Academic staff can apply on behalf of students and staff. Support staff can apply on behalf of staff.

Responsibilities of a Workspace Manager

1. Maintain Membership of the workspace group members.

How to make changes:

The members of the Workspace user groups are named:

  • ws.workspacename.Managers
  • ws.workspacename.ReadOnly
  • ws.workspacename.ReadWrite

The delegated manager(s) can add and remove members of these group using the instructions in the add/remove section below.

2. Act as a local point of contact for IT Services

3. Receive occasional space usage reports and act on them

Workspace managers will receive summaries of the Workspace(s) they manage from time to time. They will receive as part of that summary an indication as to the growth (or otherwise) of the Workspace they manage.

There is a limit amount of space available for Group Workspaces, so the Manager(s) should review the space used by their Workspace(s), and remove old/redundant files regularly. IT Services may challenge what appears to be excessive or rapidly increasing use of Workspaces, as this may affect other users within the University.

4. Clear out old files regularly

Group Workspace managers are required to maintain the files in the Workspace(s) they manage. If files are no longer of use, they are to be deleted. If inappropriate files are found (eg copy of someones hard disk drive, personal files, etc) the Manager will contact the person concerned and remove such files.

This is particularly important for Workspaces used by students who may only be transient users of the Workspace.

A useful tool to gain an overview of any file space can be found as  \\ws6.lboro.ac.uk\Tools-\windirstat\windirstat.exe This tool will scan a folder and report back sizes and number of files/folders, and can even report back file types (eg MP3, JPG, DOCX etc).

How do I request a Group Workspace?

To request creation of a Group Workspace 

How do I add/remove people to/from the Group workspace?

Users who need access to the Group workspace can be added/removed through Outlook 2010 on any University Staff computer, or through office365 on any web browser.

Please click here for instructions on how to add/remove a user using office365
To add a user to a group workspace in Outlook 2010, please follow the steps below:
1. Click the Address book button in the top right.

Outlook 2010 Address Book Button

2. In the search field find the workspace by typing 'ws.workspaceName'

Outlook 2010 Address Book

You will see three entries for the workspace. Each one assigns a different type of permission:

.Managers will give the person the ability to add and remove users from the workspace(please note this does not allow a user to view the workspace)

.ReadOnly will give the person the ability to see the contents of the workspace folder. They will be able to open files and folders in the workspace, but they will not be able to make any changes, save or delete files.

.ReadWrite will give the person to the ability to see the contents of the folder and create, edit and delete files and folders within the workspace (this is usually the standard permission a member of staff should have)

To be able to change permissions and view the workspace please add the user to both the .Managers group and either the ReadWrite or ReadOnly group.

To add a person to one of the groups:

  1. Double click the permission entry in the Address Book.
  2. Click Modify Members.
  3. Click Add.
  4. Locate the person's name from the address book and double click it
  5. Click Ok for the next three windows

The person will now have access to the workspace. They will need to log off and back onto their staff desktop for changes to take effect. Once the person logs back on the workspace will be displayed in the Workspaces folder located on the desktop.

If the person needs to have the workspace on a non-staff Windows or Mac computer please follow this link.

How do I restore files and folders?

See our Restoring Files and Folders section. Please note that this feature is currently unavailable on Macs.