Lightning players set for Women’s Six Nations duty

sarah hunter

Loughborough Lightning will be well represented at this year’s Women’s Six Nations with 14 players called up for international duty.

Defending champions England have selected six Loughborough players with Sarah Hunter (co-captain), Detysha Harper, Sadia Kabeya, Cath O’Donell, Morwenna Talling, and Helena Rowland all expected to play for the Red Roses.

Emily Scarratt will be marked as unavailable for selection due to injury.

Scotland also has a large Lightning contingent in their ranks as Rachel Malcolm, Leah Bartlett, Christine Belisle, Emma Wassell, Helen Nelson, and Chloe Rollie made the 42-player squad.

Elsewhere, Wales have called-up Loughborough pair Carys Williams-Morris and Amelia Tutt as the Dragons search for a maiden Six Nations title.

Rhys Edwards, Director of Rugby, at Loughborough University said: “It’s with great pride that we can announce that so many of our players have once again been selected by their home countries for the Women’s Six Nations Championships.

“As always, the tournament brings together the best talent in the sport and we’re all looking forward to another showcase of high-quality rugby. We wish them all the very best.”

England will open their title defence against Scotland in Newcastle on Saturday, 25 March (16:45 GMT), and Wales will begin at home versus Ireland on the same date (14:15GMT).

The Women’s Six Nations will run from 25 March – 29 April 2023.