Large Loughborough cohort selected for Team GB Olympic hockey squads

Izzy Petter has been selected for Team GB's women's hockey squad

Current student Izzy Petter (pictured) is one of seven Loughborough-linked athletes selected in Team GB's women's hockey Olympics squad.

Loughborough University will once again be well represented in Team GB’s hockey squads for this summer’s Olympic Games in Tokyo.

A total of seven Loughborough-linked athletes have been selected for the women’s side, with current students Izzy Petter and Ellie Rayer booking their place on the plane to Japan.

They will be joined by five alumnae: Giselle Ansley, Maddie Hinch, Sarah Jones, Laura Unsworth, and Leah Wilkinson.

The men’s side will also feature two Loughborough alumni as Ian Sloan and Chris Griffiths make the final 16-strong squad. They will also be joined by Sam Ward who has also played for Loughborough students.

The team will be coached by Danny Kerry MBE and David Ralph, both of whom are graduates of the University.

Brett Holland, Women's Hockey Performance Head Coach at Loughborough University said: 

“We’re understandably thrilled to have such a large Loughborough representation across both Team GB squads.

“We’re especially delighted for Izzy and Ellie as current students who will be flying the flag for Loughborough out in Japan. It will undoubtedly be a great experience and we wish both squads the very best of luck.”

The full squads can be found below:

GB women's squad: Giselle Ansley (Loughborough University alumna), Grace Balsdon, Fiona Crackles, Maddie Hinch (Loughborough University alumna), Sarah Jones (Loughborough University alumna), Hannah Martin, Shona McCallin, Lily Owsley, Hollie Pearne-Webb, Izzy Petter (current Loughborough University student and plays for University team), Ellie Rayer (current Loughborough University PhD student), Sarah Robertson, Anna Toman, Susannah Townsend, Laura Unsworth (Loughborough University alumna), Leah Wilkinson (Loughborough University alumna). Accredited reserves: Amy Costello, Sarah Evans. Travelling reserves: Sabbie Heesh, Jo Hunter

GB men's squad: David Ames, Liam Ansell, Brendan Creed, Adam Dixon, Jacob Draper, James Gall, Chris Griffiths (Loughborough University alumni), Ollie Payne, Phil Roper, Liam Sanford, Rupert Shipperley, Ian Sloan (Loughborough University alumni), Tom Sorsby, Zach Wallace, Jack Waller, Sam Ward (played for Loughborough University team). Accredited reserves: Alan Forsyth, Harry Martin. Travelling reserves: Will Calnan, George Pinner.

For more information on hockey at Loughborough, click HERE.