Loughborough scholars selected to compete at European Para Championships

Athlete Zak Skinner competing

Zak Skinner (centre) has been selected alongside fellow Loughborough Sport scholar Lydia Church to compete at the European Para Championships in Poland.Image: Still Sport Photography.

Loughborough Sport Scholars Lydia Church (coach: Jim Edwards) and Zak Skinner (Aston Moore) have been selected to compete for GB&NI in the T12 shot put and T13 long jump respectively, at the European Para Championships in Poland between the 1st and 5th June.

The athletes, who both compete in categories for those with visual impairments, competed successfully at the 2019 World Para Championships, and will contribute to a 47-strong team of athletes travelling to the postponed 2020 Championships.

They will be joined on the team by a large cohort of Loughborough alumni and Loughborough-based athletes including Paralympic Champions Sophie Hahn, Libby Clegg, Dan Greaves and Richard Whitehead.

Loughborough Athletics Programme Manager, Emma Wiltshire, commented:

“We are delighted that our Scholars and athletes from the wider Loughborough Sport community have been selected to compete at the European Para Championships in June.

“At Loughborough, we are constantly striving to provide the best Para sport offer we can, whether that is in the provision of world-class training facilities, coaching, athlete support or competition opportunities. We want to be the first choice for athletes when deciding where to study and train.” 

The full list of Loughborough-based athletes selected to compete is below:

Olivia Breen (T38 Long Jump and 100m; Moore)

Lydia Church (T12 Shot; Edwards)

Libby Clegg (T11 200m and Relay; Joe McDonnell, plus guide runner, Chris Clarke)

Sophie Hahn (T38 100m and relay; Leon Baptiste)

Ali Smith (T38 100m, 400m & relay; Benke Blomkvist)

Stef Reid (T64 Long Jump; Moore)

Jonathan Broom-Edwards (T64 High Jump; Graham Ravenscroft)

Shaun Burrowes (T38 400m; McDonnell)

Barney Corrall (T38 Long Jump; Chris Sinclair)

Dan Greaves (F64 Discus; Zane Duquemin)

Luke Nuttall (T46 1500m; Alison Wyeth)

Zac Shaw (T12 100m and relay; Baptiste)

Zak Skinner (T13 long jump and 100m; Moore)

Rafi Solaiman (RR3 100m; Philip Fleetwood)

Richard Whitehead (T61 200m; Keith Antoine)

Thomas Young (T38 100m and relay; McDonnell)

The full team announcement can be found by clicking HERE.