Current Students and Staff

// University News

Image of the Brodsky Quartet

22 May 2017

Brodsky Quartet to perform at Loughborough University

The world-renowned Brodsky Quartet will perform at Loughborough University’s Cope Auditorium on Wednesday 31 May.

Since forming in 1972, they have performed over 3,000 concerts on the major stages of the world and have released more than 60 recordings.

Featuring Daniel Rowland and Ian Belton on violin, Paul Cassidy on viola, and Jacqueline Thomas on cello, the quartet has a natural curiosity and an insatiable desire to explore, which has propelled them in a number of artistic directions.

They are prominent on the international chamber music scene, attracting numerous awards and accolades worldwide, as well as many outstanding live reviews.

‘The dedication of forty-four years’ playing is evident’, said the Australian Stage.

Describing their impressive musicianship, Limelight Magazine wrote: ‘There are some mercilessly tricky moments for the quartet, as each composer has clearly aimed to wring every ounce of technical virtuosity from this opportunity, but the Brodskys meet this test of their musical mettle with unflinching confidence.’

The programme for the evening is as follows:

  • Bach, Johann Sebastian: BWV 1080: The Art of Fugue (selection)
  • Mendelssohn, Felix: Fugue
  • Shostakovich, Dmitri: Quartet No. 8 in C minor, Op.110
  • Interval
  • Beethoven, Ludwig van: String Quartet No. 13 in Bb, Op. 130

The Brodsky Quartet will perform at Cope Auditorium, Loughborough University on Wednesday 31 May at 7:30pm.

Tickets are £13, £10 for concessions and £5 for students. They can be booked online here, or at the LU Arts Box Office at Loughborough Town Hall on 01509 231914.

For further information on the LU Arts programme, please contact Nick Slater, Director of Arts, on 01509 222960 or visit the website.