Current Students and Staff

// University News

7 Jun 2016

Students’ enterprising achievements recognised at annual awards

Loughborough University and the Students’ Union celebrated their annual Enterprise Awards last week (2 June), recognising the enterprising achievements of students.

More than 115 guests gathered in the Loughborough Students’ Union building for a showcase of student business ideas and entrepreneurial talent.

Celebrating inspiring individuals, club committees and aspiring entrepreneurs, the Awards recognise the enterprising successes of the past 12 months.

The Enterprising Star of the Year for 2016 was awarded to Paul Ince for his work supporting students, conducting skills workshops, training sessions and judging competitions.

Enactus Loughboroughwon the Most Enterprising Student Team or Group award for their work leading a team of budding social entrepreneurs to use their business acumen for the benefit of society, both in the UK and overseas.

Harry Lane and Jamie Colvin won Entrepreneurial Undergraduate and Postgraduate of the Year. Undergraduate, Harry, has worked hard to successfully develop his business brand, Swala. While Jamie, a postgraduate Loughborough London Masters student, has been pro-active in visiting the Loughborough campus to organise enterprising activities in partnership with LSU Enterprise.

Most Enterprising Hall Committee was awarded to David Collett who excelled in this year’s £10 Hall Challenge. They raised £660.71 in 10 days with an initial investment of just £10.

This year’s Inspiring Enterprise Student of the Year winner was Chloe Anderson for her dedication to guiding students engaged through Social Storm and CAKE to develop a deeper understanding of entrepreneurship.

The annual event also recognised the efforts of students who have developed innovative ventures and demonstrated excellent business skills and acumen through the Launch-it! competition.

A range of awards including category winners, an overall competition winner and winners of three sponsored prizes were also presented on the night. 

Click here to read more