Current Students and Staff

// University News

Doctoral Researcher receives Faculty for the Future Fellowship Award

Doctoral researcher Joyce Chivunga from Loughborough’s Centre for Renewable Energy Systems Technology (CREST) is one of 37 new Faculty for the Future Fellows, awarded by the Schlumberger Foundation.

The global award is dedicated to pioneering women from developing countries pursuing post-graduate studies in STEM subjects.

Joyce is researching how to improve the resilience of the electricity sector in Malawi against extreme weather events. In 2022, tropical Storm Ana knocked out a significant part of Malawi’s electrical infrastructure, with climate change expected to make these storm events more common.

The Schlumberger Foundation is a non-profit organisation that supports science and technology education. The Foundation’s flagship program, Faculty for the Future, recognising the link between science, technology, and socio-economic development, as well as the key role of education in realising individual potential

Since 2004, the program has grown to become a community of 807 women from 86 countries. In 2022, 37 new grants were awarded, and 57 grants were renewed.

Speaking about her achievement, Joyce said: “In times like these, I am inspired by John F. Kennedy’s words: ‘We must find the time to stop and thank the people who make a difference in our lives’. Schlumberger has made a very big difference in my life.”

Richard Blanchard, Joyce’s PhD Supervisor, added: “Joyce’s Schlumberger Award is testament to the importance of her research for the people of Malawi and is a recognition of her as a pioneer for women in engineering research and education in Africa. Joyce will inspire countless female students into STEM subjects.”

Joyce has already co-authored a journal article on the impacts and resilience of the electricity supply industry against Covid19 restrictions in the UK, Malawi, and Uganda. Joyce is also a Commonwealth Scholar that covers her fees and a stipend.  Joyce is supervised by Dr Richard Blanchard and Dr Zhengyu Lin.

Find out more about the Schlumberger Foundation Faculty for the Future here.