Current Students and Staff

// University News

LSU Student Leadership Elections: Executive Officers announced

On Wednesday 20 March, Loughborough Students’ Union (LSU) hosted a results night, announcing the new LSU Executive Officers for academic year 2024/25.

After a week of campaigning, students voted for five new Executive Officers, which were announced at results night:

  • President: Rachael Alvey
  • Democracy & Communities: James Peat
  • Academic Experience: James Simpson
  • Equity, Diversity & Inclusion: Atlas Alberich
  • Sport: Frankie Suckling

The elected Officers will serve as the voice of the students and will work to ensure that students' opinions are represented, and their suggestions are considered whenever decisions are made. The new LSU Executive Officers will commence their roles during the summer before the start of the next academic year.

Elected LSU President, Rachael Alvey, commented: “I think I had a very similar experience to most other Executive Officer candidates, both past and present. Campaigning can result in long days out on the campaign trail with lecture shout outs, dropping in to AU sessions as well as attending candidate roadshows. Yet even when I was sat at home resting after such a long day I was feeling guilty that I wasn’t out doing more.

“It’s great to see that it’s all worth it in the end though – I’m thrilled to be the next President and look forward to being able to implement the changes I have promised!”

More information about Student Leadership at Loughborough Students’ Union.