Duties of a Group Workspace Manager
A Group Workspace manager is needed as a point of contact for IT Services if there are any issues with the Group Workspace, they are also the people we will accept directions from regarding changes to the Group Workspace. There are also several other tasks that a Group Workspace manager needs to carry out.
This can be done using Outlook, please see the ‘Managing Group Workspace Membership’ page for details. Ensuring appropriate access is granted based on the classification of the data contained within the group as per Information Governance Policy 3 - Information categories and controls. The group manager can also add or remove members of the managers group. We strongly recommend that there are at least 2 managers for each Group Workspace.
To ensure that the Group Workspace does not grow too large with out of date files. And ensure that users handle and process information in accordance with the Information Categories and Controls Policy
When the Group Workspace when it is no longer required it should be deleted. Once a Group Workspace and its files are no longer required, to have the Group Workspace deleted, the contents of the Group Workspace must be deleted and then a request raised via the IT Services Service Desk for the Group Workspace to be deleted.
Group Workspace managers are IT Services primary point of contact regarding Group Workspaces, and managers may be contacted for several reasons. Below we identify some reasons.
- IT Services maintains reports on Group Workspace use, including identifying old/unused Group Workspaces. After 450 days of inactivity, defined by whether any files in the Group Workspace have been modified, IT Services may contact the managers to ask if the Group Workspace is no longer required.
- If you have a Group Workspace that has low levels of activity but is still required, to prevent it being identified, we suggest a file be created with a review date. Once you review the Group Workspace and identify that it is still required, change the date in the file to the current date and save the file, this will then be regarded as activity by our reports.
- A Group Workspace that has been identified as having no current active users.
- Additionally, we may contact the members of the Read/Write group for a Group Workspace when it has been identified as having no managers, to request that a colleague be nominated, or volunteer, to be a manager for the Group Workspace.
In some circumstance’s IT Services will automatically delete old, unused, Group Workspaces. The current conditions for automatic deletion are listed below, ALL conditions must be met:
- Unused for at least 450 days.
- No Manager.
- No members of the Read/Write group.