Plasma & Pulsed Power Research Group

Our group develops novel plasma sources, ultrashort and highly repetitive pulsed electric fields and state-of-the-art pulsed power systems for novel solutions to current challenges in the fields of engineering and beyond.

About us

From high power broadband ultrasound sources to new environmentally friendly synthetic approaches and decontamination techniques, the Plasma and Pulsed Power Group continues to provide UK governmental institutions and leading global industries with novel and unconventional ways to solve current pressing challenges.

Over the last decades, the group has also provided novel solutions to the multiple challenges faced by the defence industry and facilitated the transfer of pulsed power technology from the military to the civilian domain.

Our research group have a typical research income of £0.5 million per year and maintains a wide range of modern equipment that include high energy capacitor banks with triggerable switches, MV TESLA transformers, DC-RF-microwave plasma sources, as well as an extremely well represented and broad range of diagnostic tools that include but is not limited to ultrahigh speed cameras, UV/visible/IR spectrometers, high power lasers, voltage (mV to MV) and current (mA to MA) sensors, magnetic and electric field differential probes, Kerr effect systems, pressure sensors and high performance digital oscilloscopes (from 300 MHz to 18 GHz).

Our group publishes its research findings in top peer-reviewed international journals and regularly gives invited/plenary talks at top international conferences. As an active member of the research community, the group also organises national and international conferences and participates in a number of international committees.

We have a well-established cooperation network with research centres all around the world including Pau University (France), Eindhoven Technical University (The Netherlands), Texas Tech University (USA), The National High Magnetic Field Laboratory at Los Alamos National Laboratory (USA), Xi’an Jiaotong University (China), Pohang University of Science and Technology (Korea), INP Greifswald (Germany), Center for Physical Sciences and Technology (Lithuania) and Lisbon Engineering Superior Institute (Portugal). etc