Loughborough University
Leicestershire, UK
LE11 3TU
+44 (0)1509 222222
Loughborough University

University Governance

Charitable Status

The University is an independent corporation established by Royal Charter. It has the status of an exempt charity and its compliance with its responsibilities as a charitable body are regulated by the Office for Students (www.officeforstudents.org.uk).

Legal Name and Correspondence Address

The legal and preferred name of the institution is Loughborough University.

The address for correspondence is:

Loughborough University
LE11 3TU

Constitutional documents

The University's Royal Charter and Statutes are the documents which establish the University and form the basis of its structure and governance.

The University's charitable status (for University staff)

The University's Legal Services explains the legal basis of the University's charitable status in a document specifically for University staff.

The University's charitable status is important in ensuring the sustainability of the institution – financially, legally, practically and reputationally. A Royal Charter Compliance Toolkit has been developed to assist colleagues with assessing whether existing or new activities are consistent with the University’s Royal Charter and charitable obligations, to ensure the University’s charitable status is never at risk.

Financial statements

The audited financial statements of the University can be found on the Finance Office website:

University Trustees

The names of the members of Council as at 31st January 2022 appear below. Where members are trustees of other charities a link to the details is provided.

Committee Secretary Richard Taylor
Assistant Committee Secretary Caroline Glendenning-Platt
Ex-Officio Members
Senior Pro-Chancellor/Chair

Christine Hodgson CBE

Pro-Chancellor (Deputy Chair)

Jennifer Maxwell-Harris


John Sinnott

Vice-Chancellor Professor Nick Jennings CB, FREng
Honorary Treasurer Andrea Davis
Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor Professor Chris Linton
Appointed Members
Appointed by the Alumni Association Oliver Sidwell
Appointed by the Students' Union Freya Mason
Charlotte Style
Members elected by the Senate
Two members of the Senate, elected by the Senate. Professor Claudia Eberlein
Professor Malcolm Cook
Members elected by the General Assembly
Two members of the academic staff elected by the General Assembly Dr Marcus Collins
Professor Lisanne Gibson
Other elected members
One member of staff, other than the academic staff, elected from within their own number. Pauline Matturi
Co-opted members
Such other persons of whom not more than two shall be members of the academic or other staff of the University and not exceeding twelve in all as may be co-opted by the Council. Andrew Fisher
Sally-Ann Hibberd
Graham Corfield
Peter Saraga
Mike Wedderburn
Penny Briscoe
Steve Varley
Tony Williams


University Committees

Information on meetings and proceedings.

Find out more »

About the University

Find out more about the University, its history and community links.

Find out more »