Human Resources

Equality, diversity & inclusion

University Self-Assessment Team

Race Equality Action Group

The Race Equality Action Group (REAG) was established in October 2019 to lead on the institution’s work on advancing race equality. The group is co-chaired by Richard Taylor (COO and Race Equality Champion for Senior Management) and James Esson (Co-chair of the BME staff network and Race Equality Champion for Staff) and is comprised of 19 staff and students from different schools and departments across the University. The REAG meets approximately every 4 months and the work of the group is supported by the Race Equality Working Group (REWG) which meets every two months.

REAG Terms of Reference

  • To champion and encourage institution wide consideration of, and action on, anti-racism and race equality issues
  • To provide overall direction, guidance and support for the University’s submission for the Race Equality Charter Bronze Award
  • To receive reports from the Race Equality Working Group and take appropriate action
  • To consider intersectionality as race equality work progresses
  • To review the impact of institutional policies and practices on race equality
  • To review a range of quantitative and qualitative data relating to race equality issues for staff and students
  • To develop a comprehensive, data informed action plan, to advance race equality over the next three years
  • To assign actions to, and monitor progress against, the institutions Race Equality Charter action plan
  • To provide and receive reports on matters of dual interest between Race Equality Action Group, Equality and Diversity Operational Group and Action and Participation Sub Committee
  • To provide updates to Human Resources Committee

REAG Membership

  • Richard Taylor, Chief Operating Officer (Co-Chair)
  • James Esson, Co-Chair of BME Staff Network/Senior Lecturer, School of Social Sciences and Humanities (Co-Chair)
  • Steve Rothberg, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research)
  • Rachel Thomson, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Teaching)
  • Adèle MacKinlay, Director of Human Resources and Organisational Development
  • Manuel Alonso. Associate Chief Operating Officer and Director of Student Services
  • Veronica Moore, Co-Chair of BME Staff Network/Head of Student Wellbeing and Inclusivity
  • Sarah Hannaford, Head of Student Recruitment, Marketing and Admissions
  • Patricia Carrillo, Associate Dean (Teaching), School of Architecture, Building and Civil Engineering
  • Angela Dy, Senior Lecturer, Loughborough University London
  • Diana Segura-Velandia, Lecturer, School of Mechanical, Electrical and Manufacturing Engineering
  • Tom Carslake, Operations Manager, School of Aeronautical, Automotive, Chemical and Materials Engineering
  • Sean Adams-Montero, Chair of the Afro-Caribbean Society
  • Omotara Nadi, Chair of the Ethnic Minorities Network
  • Matt Youngs, LSU Welfare and Diversity Executive Officer
  • Emma Dresser, Planning Officer (Equality, Diversity and Inclusion)
  • Linda Bull, Planning Officer (Data)
  • Hemisha Harji, Careers Projects Manager