Vacancies on Council

Two elections are upcoming.

Member of the Senate, being a member of the Academic Staff, elected by the Senate, but no member of the Senate shall be eligible for such election to the Council during their final year of office as a member of the Senate.

Professor Tarek Hassan has been DULY ELECTED (UNOPPOSED) to membership of Council for a period of 3 years from 01 August 2023.

Members of the Academic Staff Elected by the Academic Staff and Academic-Related staff members of the General Assembly.

(vice Dr Marcus Collins)

ELECTION NOW OPEN: closes  Monday 12th June at 5pm.

About Council

The University welcomes nominations which reflect the diversity of race and nationality, religion or belief, gender identity, sex, sexual orientation, age and disability across the University community.

Nominations from black, Asian and ethnic minorities are particularly encouraged as these groups are underrepresented on Council.

The Council is the governing body of the University and is responsible for its strategic direction and overall governance.

The Council has a page describing the committee's primary responsibilities and its formal powers are set out in University Statute XIII.

The membership of Council is drawn from lay members external to the University (the majority), members of staff and students. It is chaired by the Senior Pro-Chancellor, Sir Peter Bonfield.