School of Social Sciences and Humanities

School news

Barbara Bagilhole Best Student Paper Award 2019

On Wednesday 25th September 2019, the Barbara Bagilhole essay prize was awarded by Rachel Thomson (Pro-vice Chancellor for Teaching), Nick Clifford and Catherine Armstrong (School Lead for Equality, Diversity and Inclusion). The prize winners were selected by a panel of academic staff led by Sophie Cranston (Geography). The prize is awarded annually for the best undergraduate essays with the theme of equality, diversity and inclusion.

This year’s prize winners are Flora Jacobs (part C, Politics with a Minor) and Simi Kolajo (pictured above) (part B, Geography). Flora’s essay explored the role of and perception of women in the 2016 US presidential election, while Simi’s work undertook textual analysis of the film I am Slave.

The prize is named after Barbara Bagilhole (1951-2015), a pioneering campaigner for women’s rights in the workplace, who exposed discrimination and sexism in many contexts. She was Lecturer in Social Policy at Loughborough and later Associate Dean for Research. She also co-founded the Women in Higher Education Management Network. This year, the Barbara Bagilhole essay prize was noted by assessors as an example of good practice in the successful application for the School of Social Science’s bronze Athena SWAN award.