Staff and students excel in 2022 Academic and Teaching Innovation Awards

Professor Sandie Dann and Dr Stephen Duffus receiving their awards at the Loughborough Academic Awards 2022.

Professor Sandie Dann and Dr Stephen Duffus receiving their awards at the Loughborough Academic Awards 2022. (Photos courtesy of Cameron Glenwright)

The School of Science is celebrating colleagues and students for their outstanding contributions to learning and teaching at Loughborough University.

We performed very well at the 2022 Loughborough Academic Awards organised by Loughborough Students’ Union, as well as the latest round of the Loughborough University Teaching Innovation Awards, which will see two teams in the School actively piloting new ways to teach and provide feedback to our students.

Given recent challenges, it is fantastic to see so many nominees and winners from the School of Science. Many congratulations and sincere thanks to them all on behalf of the School, and thanks to all our colleagues across the School for their hard work and contributions over this academic year.

Our nominees and winners from the School are listed below.

Loughborough Academic Awards 2022


  • Professor Sandie Dann (Chemistry) – winner of the Academic Champion of the Year Award
  • Dr Stephen Duffus (Physics) – winner of the Excellence in Teaching Award
  • Dr David Sibley (Mathematical Sciences) – nominated for the Staff-Student Liaison Committee Staff Member of the Year Award
  • Dr Juliet Ojiako (Mathematical Sciences) – nominated for Champion of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion
  • Dr Marco Mazza (Mathematical Sciences) – nominated for the Extra Mile Award
  • Siân Williams (Foundation Studies) – nominated for the Academic Champion of the Year Award


Our students did exceptionally well this year! Many congratulations to all the following:

  • Alice Ferriday and Juwon Okunade – winners of the Peer Assisted Learning Facilitator of the Year Award
  • Mollie Glenister – winner of the Peer Mentor of the Year Award
  • Samuel Lea – nominated for the Department Chair of the Year Award
  • Lot Burgstra and Mahek Gondalia – nominated for the Department Vice-Chair of the Year Award
  • Fay Muenchow – nominated for the Department Committee Member of the Year Award
  • Megan Mckone – nominated for the Student Coordinator of the Year Award
  • James Finn – nominated for the Outstanding Impact Award
  • Computer Science Committee – shortlisted for the Department Committee of the Year Award

We look forward to more awards and success in 2023!

Teaching Innovation Awards 2022

Many congratulations to Hossein Nevisi, Parisa Derakhshan and Sara Saravi who will run a pilot on student engagement entitled ‘AI-Chatbots for Supporting Students’ Module-Related Enquiries’.

Congratulations also to Anje Conradie, Nicola Jennings, Peter Hortor and colleagues from the Academic Language Support Service and School of Business and Economics, who will work on an interactive resource for teaching referencing skills: ‘The Ref-buddy’.

Well done to all and good luck with the projects!