Centre for Academic Practice

Procedures and Schemes

Loughborough Teaching Awards

Teaching Awards provide an important means for the University to recognise, celebrate and promote excellence in learning and teaching. Currently, there are three types of award, one encouraging new developments for the future, the other recognising current teaching excellence and a new award created to share examples of best practice.

Applications for the Teaching Innovation Awards, Research-informed Teaching and the Teaching Best Practice Award usually run at the start of each calendar year. Keep an eye out for more information or contact s.chester@lboro.ac.uk with any specific queries. 

Guidance and application forms appear within the Teaching Innovation Awards and Research-informed area of the CAP website.  

All Teaching Award winners are featured in our Loughborough University Learning and Teaching Conference 21st September 2021 which is open to all staff and can be attended in person or virtually. More details can be found here. 

Teaching Innovation Awards</br></br>

Teaching Innovation Awards

Annual funding to support small pedagogic initiatives and research projects

Research-informed Teaching Awards

Research-informed Teaching Awards

Awards to recognise excellence in teaching

Teaching Best Practice Awards

Teaching Best Practice Awards

Examples of best practice from across our Learning and Teaching community


National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (Advance HE)

he National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS) run by the Higher Education Academy usually opens its application “window” in October of each year. Each University is able to support up to three candidates for NTF and Loughborough University now has an established process for choosing and then mentoring potential candidates for submission. If you would like to know more about the NTFS scheme, you can contact Dr Glynis Perkin for information. 

The first stage in this process is attendance at a workshop designed to provide further information and to discuss the requirements for submission. The workshop will be run by the Centre for Academic Practice in early October, to coincide with the opening of the application window. Colleagues interested can book on the workshop via my.HR.

In preparation for the workshop colleagues are asked to write around 500 words about their teaching practice and bring this to the session. This should address the NTFS criteria:

  • Individual excellence: evidence of enhancing and transforming the student learning experience commensurate with the individual’s context and the opportunities afforded by it.
  • Raising the profile of excellence: evidence of supporting colleagues and influencing support for student learning; demonstrating impact and engagement beyond the nominee’s immediate academic or professional role
  • Developing excellence: evidence of the nominee’s commitment to her/his ongoing professional development with regard to teaching and learning and/or learning support

You can find out more about the NTFS here.

You can also see the profile of Dr Lara Alcock, one of our exisiting National Teaching Fellows, on the HEA website: https://www.heacademy.ac.uk/person/dr-lara-alcock