Sergey Saveliev

Professor Sergey Saveliev

  • Associate Dean (Research)
  • Professor of Theoretical Physics
  • IOP and APS Fellow

In April 2006 I joined Loughborough University as a lecturer and was later promoted first to a Reader in December 2006 and then to a Professor of Theoretical Physics.In Aug 2015, I became the Head of the Department of Physics. In August 2017, I was promoted to the Associate Dean Research at the School of Science, comprising of Physics, Chemistry, Computer Science, and Mathematical Sciences (including the Mathematics Education Centre). Currently, my main responsibilities are to improve the research and grant performance of the whole School, to coordinate the REF2021 submissions, to ensure high quality standards of our PGR provision, and to develop and deliver the School Research Strategy.


  • 1996 PhD from the Theoretical Physics Department, Moscow Engineering Physics Institute, Russia


  • 1995: Research scientists at All-Russian Electrical Engineering Institute, Russia
  • 1999: Research Fellow at Institute of Materials Science, University of Tsukuba, Japan
  • 2002: Senior Researcher at The Institute of Physical and Chemical Research (RIKEN), Japan
  • 2006: Lecturer/Reader/Professor at Physics Department, Loughborough University, UK
  • 2015-2017: Head of Physics Department
  • 2017: Associate Dean Research at the School of Science


  • MEXT Young Scientist Prize, Japan, 2008
  • Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award, Germany, 2009
  • IOP Fellow, 2011
  • ASP Fellow, 2012

Main research directions

  • Complex networks and rapid decision making under risk
  • Neuromorphic memristive devices and brain emulators
  • Quantum Computing
  • Terahertz superconducting and semiconducting electronics
  • Biologically inspired nanodevidence
  • Graphene


  • IOP fellow
  • APS fellow
  • EPSRC college member


  • Marie Curie Fellowship (coordinator), 2012-2014
  • Leverhulme Research Fellowship (PI), 2013–2014
  • Templeton foundation grant, 2011-2013
  • Advanced EPSRC Research Fellowship (PI), 2006-2011
  • Semiconducting and Superconducting Nano-Devices to control Terahertz Radiation (EPSRC), 2007 - 2010

PhD students (completed)

  • Richard Wilson
  • Zoe Washington
  • Alex Wall-Clarke
  • Russell Glavey
  • Associate Dean Research
  • Member of Senate (Aug 2015- Aug 2019)
  • Member of Council (Aug 2016 - Aug 2019)

Selected publications

  • S. Savel'ev, F. Nori, Experimentally realizable devices for controlling the motion of magnetic flux quanta in anisotropic superconductors, Nature Materials 1, 179 (2002)
  • J.E. Villegas, S. Savel'ev, F. Nori, E.M. Gonzalez, J.V. Anguita, R. Garcia, J.L. Vicent, Superconducting reversible rectifier that controls the motion of magnetic flux quanta, Science 302, 1188 (2003)
  • D. Cole, S. Bending, S. Savel’ev, A. Grigorenko , T. Tamegai, F. Nori, Ratchet without spatial asymmetry for Controlling the motion of magnetic flux quanta using time-asymmetric drives, Nature Materials 5, 305–311 (2006)
  • S. Savel'ev, A.L. Rakhmanov, V.A. Yampol'skii, and F. Nori, Analogues of nonlinear optics using terahertz Josephson plasma waves in layered superconductors, Nature Physics 2, 521-525 (2006)
  • W. Yi, S.E. Savel'ev, G. Medeiros-Ribeiro, F. Miao, M.-X. Zhang, J.J. Yang, A.M. Bratkovsky, R.S. Williams, Quantized Conductance coincides with State Instability and Excess Noise in Tantalum Oxide Memristors, Nature Communications 7, 11142 (2016)
  • Z. Wang, S. Joshi, S. Savel'ev, H. Jiang, R. Midya, P. Lin, M. Hu, N. Ge, J.P. Strachan, Z. Li, Q. Wu, M, Barnell, G.-L. Li, H. Xin, R.S. Williams, Q. Xia, and J. Yang, Memristors with diffusive dynamics as synaptic emulators for neuromorphic computing, Nature Materials 16, 101 (2017)
  • R. Midya, Z. Wang, J. Zhang, S.E. Savel’ev, C. Li, M. Rao, M.H. Jang, S. Joshi, H. Jiang, P. Lin, K. Norris, N. Ge, Q. Wu, M. Barnell, Z. Li, H. L. Xin, R.S. Williams, Q. Xia, J.J. Yang, Anatomy of Ag/Hafnia-Based Selectors with 1010 Nonlinearity, Advanced Materials 29, 1604457 (2017)
  • H. Jiang, D. Belkin, S. Savel'ev, S. Lin, Z. Wang, Y. Li, S. Joshi, R. Midya, C. Li, M. Rao, M. Barnell, Q. Wu, J.J. Yang, Q. Xia, A novel true random number generator based on a stochastic diffusive memristor, Nature Communications 8, 882 (2017).
  • Z. Wang, S. Joshi, S. Savel’ev, W. Song, R. Midya, Y. Li, M. Rao, P. Yan, S. Asapu, Y. Zhuo, H. Jiang, P. Lin, C. Li, J. H. Yoon, N. K. Upadhyay, J. Zhang, M. Hu, J. P. Strachan, M. Barnell, Q. Wu, H. Wu, R. S. Williams, Q. Xia, J. J. Yang, Fully memristive neural networks for pattern classification with unsupervised learning, Nature Electronics 1, 137–145 (2018).
  • A.S. Pawar, S. Gepshtein, S. Savel’ev, T.D. Albright, Mechanisms of spatiotemporal selectivity in cortical area MT, Neuron 101, 514 (2019).