• Lecturer / Senior Lecturer, Loughborough University, UK (2016 - present)
  • Research Assistant Professor in Physics, West Virginia University, USA (2013 - 2016)
  • Postoctoral Research Associate in Chemistry, University of Liverpool, UK (2010 - 2012)
  • Dr. rer. nat. (PhD) in Physics, University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany (2009)
  • Dipl.-Phys. (Distinction), University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany (2004)

Research areas

  • Thin film growth by physical vapour deposition, preparation and characterisation of heterostructures and multilayers
  • Devices for neuromorphic computing, memristors. Read more about it
  • Magnetic, magnetoelectric and multiferroic materials. Measurements of the magnetoelectric effect

Research grants

Equipment and techniques

  • Fabrication: thin film growth by magnetron sputtering and pulsed laser deposition. Ability to grow metal, oxide and nitride films. Photolithography in a clean room, ion milling (ATC-Orion-IM from AJA).  Ultrasonic wedge bonding.
  • Material characterisation: X-ray diffraction, reflectometry, atomic force microscopy (including AFM-FLIM). XPS, SEM and TEM are available at LMCC. Transport measurements at 0.3K - 400K by Cryogenic mCFMS.
  • Device characterisation: I-V, C-V and pulse measurements (6 channels) by 4200 Keithley SCS parameter analyzer with an attached EverBeing probe station. AC impedance spectroscopy by Metrohm Autolab.
  • Magnetic characterisation: Magneto-optic Kerr effect, SQUID from Quantum Design, VSM from Cryogenic mCFMS (up to 9T).

Selected publications

  • PHC120 Surfaces, Thin Films and High Vacuum (module leader)
  • PHD109 Characterisation Techniques in Solid State Physics
  • PHC904 Research Methods in Physics
  • PHB903 Physics Laboratory II
  • Final year project supervision for BSc, MPhys and MSc finalists
  • Personal tutor, visiting placement tutor
  • Undergraduate Admissions Tutor
  • Postgraduate Master's Admissions
  • Research associates
  • PhD students
    • Alex Gabbitas, Josh Donald (thin film memristor devices)
    • Christopher Briggs (magnetoelectric and multiferroic materials, primary supervisor is Dr Joseph Betouras)
  • Former members: Kamal Brahim, Aidan Murphy, Dr Debi Pattnaik, Dr Ben Johnson