• Senior Lecturer in Quantum Magnetism, Loughborough University (2024-present)
  • Lecturer in Physics, Loughborough University (2018-2023)
  • Research Associate, University of Minnesota, USA (2015-2018)
  • Research Scientist, Leibnitz IFW Dresden, Germany (2011-2013)
  • Visitor Scientist, MPI-PKS Dresden, Germany (2009-2011 & 2014)
  • Post-doc Scientifique, EPF Lausanne, Switzerland (2006-2009)


  • PhD in Condensed Matter Physics, Iowa State University, USA (2005)
  • MSc in Condensed Matter Theory, University of Crete (2001)
  • BSc in Physics, University of Crete (1999)

Research Group

  • Millie Panther (PhD student, since October 2020)
  • Mathew Davies (PhD student, since July 2023)
  • Dr Marios Georgiou (PDRA, since February 2022)

Research Areas

  • Strongly correlated electron systems
  • Quantum magnetism
  • Classical and quantum spin liquids
  • Strong spin-orbit coupled materials (Iridates, Ruthenates, etc)
  • Skyrmionic physics in non-centrosymmetric helimagnets
  • Magnetoelectrics and multiferroics
  • Molecular nanomagnets (relaxation, hysteresis effects, tunneling)

Research Grants

  • EPSRC New Investigator Grant, "Detecting fractionalization in strongly correlated magnets" (2021-2024)
  • US DOE grant, "Spectroscopies of fractionalised excitations in topological strongly correlated matter" (Co-I, 2017-2019; with Natalia Perkins (PI), University of Minnesota)

Selected publications

  • “Quantum spin liquid in the semiclassical regime”, with Y. Sizyuk and N. B. Perkins, Nat. Commun. 9, 1575 (2018)
  • “Microscopic theory of the nearest-neighbor valence bond sector of the spin-1/2 kagome antiferromagnet”, with A. Ralko and F. Mila, Phys. Rev. B 97, 104401 (2018)
  • “Classical spin liquid instability driven by off-diagonal exchange in strong spin-orbit magnets”, with N. B. Perkins, Phys. Rev. Lett. 118, 147204 (2017)
  • “Kitaev anisotropy induces mesoscopic Z2 vortex crystals in frustrated hexagonal antiferromagnets”, with U. K. Rößler, J. van den Brink, and M. Daghofer, Phys. Rev. B 93, 104417 (2016)
  • “Strongly frustrated triangular spin lattice emerging from triplet dimer formation in honeycomb Li2IrO3”, with S. Nishimoto, V. M. Katukuri, V. Yushankhai, H. Stoll, U. K. Rößler, L. Hozoi, and J. van den Brink, Nat. Commun. 7, 10273 (2016)
  • “Phase diagram and quantum order by disorder in the Kitaev K1-K2 honeycomb magnet”, with J. Reuther, R. Thomale, S. Rachel, and N. B. Perkins, Phys. Rev. X 5, 041035 (2015)
  • “Establishing the fundamental magnetic interactions in the chiral skyrmionic Mott insulator Cu2OSeO3 by terahertz electron spin resonance”, with M. Ozerov, J. Romhányi, M. Belesi, J.-Ph. Ansermet, H. Berger, J. van den Brink, J. Wosnitza, and S. A. Zvyagin, Phys. Rev. Lett. 113, 157205 (2014)
  • “The quantum nature of skyrmions and half-skyrmions in Cu2OSeO3”, with O. Janson, A. A. Tsirlin, M. Belesi, A. A. Leonov, U. K. Rößler, J. van den Brink, and H. Rosner, Nat. Commun. 5, 5376 (2014)


  • 22PHC904-23PHC904 - Research Methods in Physics (Theory part)
  • 22PHB907-23PHB907 - Core Physics V: Solid State Physics
  • 21PHB902 - Core Physics IV: Statistical and Solid State Physics (Solid State part)
  • 20PHB902/PHB912 - Core Physics IV: Condensed Matter, Materials & Statistical Physics
  • 18PHB110-19PHB110 - Solid State Physics
  • 20PHB904-23PHB904 - Advanced Computational Modelling and Simulation (MATLAB part)
  • 21PHC014 - Condensed Matter Physics (Magnetism part)

Teaching Awards

  • 05/2019, Loughborough University Science Award for "Best Resources in Physics"
  • Programme Director (since October 2021)

Reviewer for funding agencies

  • Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (since 2019)
  • US National Science Foundation (since 2017)
  • European Research Council (since 2017)

Reviewer for academic journals

  • Nature Physics, Nature Communications, Scientific Reports
  • APS Journals (PRX, PRL, PRB, PRM, PRE)
  • Europhys. Lett., Eur. Phys. J. B, Phys. Status Solidi B
  • J. Phys. Soc. Jpn.