Neuromorphic technology: a giant leap for AI.

  • 26 March 2024 - 28 March 2024
  • 10am
  • Microsoft Teams

This event will convene a community of researchers and innovators working on cutting-edge neuromorphic hardware and brain-inspired algorithms. This is an AI UK Fringe event supported by the Alan Turing Institute.

While the transformative potential of neuromorphic technology for the future of AI and computing has gained recognition in the USA National AI R&D Strategic Plan, a similar community has only recently taken root in the UK. To secure UK leadership in this strategically important technology requires urgent attention. Recognizing this imperative, Innovate UK’s Horizon Scanning team has embarked on the task of consolidating UK neuromorphic research and innovation. The proposed event aims to catalyze and amplify these efforts, fostering collaboration and knowledge exchange within a broad neuromorphic stakeholder community. Loughborough University is one of the key research centres in this field, having a track record of hosting three recent world-leading neuromorphic workshops and established a diverse network both within the UK and across the globe.

Confirmed Speakers

  • Professor Andrew Adamatzky (UWE, Bristol)
  • Professor Jim Al-Khalili (University of Surrey)
  • Dr Alexander Balanov (Loughborough University)
  • Dr Niladri Banerjee (Imperial College London)
  • Dr Pavel Borisov (Loughborough University)
  • Dominik Dold (European Space Agency)
  • Dr. Shirin Dora (Loughborough University)
  • Professor Marian Florescu (University of Surrey)
  • Dr Sergei Gepshtein (Salk Institute)
  • Keith Hermiston (Dstl)
  • Dr Ruomeng Huang (University of Southampton)
  • Dr Antonio Hurtado (University of Strathclyde)
  • Dr Natalia Janson (Loughborough University)
  • Professor Neil Kemp (University of Nottingham)
  • Professor Tony Kenyon (University College London)
  • Paul Larcey (Innovate UK)
  • Professor Judith L. MacManus-Driscoll (University of Cambridge)
  • Dr Daniel Mannion (The Alan Turing Institute)
  • Dr Adnan Mehonic (University College London)
  • Professor Franco Nori (RIKEN and University of Michigan)
  • Dr Varun Ojha (Newcastle University)
  • Professor T Prodromakis, (University of Edinburgh)
  • Professor Bipin Rajendran (King’s College London)
  • Professor Sergey Saveliev (Loughborough University)
  • Dr Alexey Scherbakov (TU Dortmund)
  • Dr Alex Serb (University of Edinburgh)
  • Professor Ronald Tetzlaff (TU Dresden)
  • Dr Juan Sebastian Totero Gongora (Loughborough University)
  • Professor Ivan Tyukin (King’s College London)
  • Professor Eleni Vasilaki (University of Sheffield)
  • Professor Stanley Williams (Texas A&M)
  • Professor Qiangfei Xia (University of Massachusetts Amherst)
  • Professor Joshua Yang (University of Southern California)
  • Dr Alexander Zagoskin (Loughborough University)
  • Professor Wei Zhang (Liverpool John Moores University)

Download programme:

Join online (MS Teams):
Teams Link

Book now

Contact and booking details

Booking required?
Booking information
Join online (MS Teams)