Types of master's degree programmes

Thinking of studying a master’s but unsure if it’s right for you? To help with your decision we’ve explained what a master’s degree is, how it’s different from an undergraduate degree and the types of programmes we offer at Loughborough.

What is a master's degree?

A master's is one of the most popular postgraduate qualifications available and demonstrates a high level of expertise in a specific field of study. It’s a level 7 on the National Qualifications Framework (NQF) which sits above an undergraduate bachelor's degree but below a doctoral programme. A full-time master's degree is typically 12 months long, with the duration of part-time programmes varying.

There are lots of different types of master's degree programmes available and here at Loughborough we currently offer MA, MSc and MBA. Information on what each degree entails has been provided below.

Master of Arts (MA)

A Master of Arts, otherwise referred to as an MA, is usually awarded in disciplines categorised as arts or social sciences. We offer MA programmes in a number of different subject areas at both our Loughborough and London campuses.

Master of Science (MSc)

A Master of Science (MSc) is usually awarded in disciplines categorised as the sciences. We offer a wide variety of MSc programmes across a number of schools and departments, including Business and Economics, engineering and Sport, Exercise and Health Sciences.

Master of Business Administration (MBA)

A Master of Business Administration (MBA) is designed to give you the skills and knowledge you need for career progression in business and management roles. Prospective MBA students are required to have at least three to five years' professional work experience.

Alternative postgraduate degrees

In addition to the master's degree programmes we've listed above, you'll find that we also offer a number of other postgraduate qualifications, including postgraduate certificates (PGCert), postgraduate diplomas (PGDip) and short courses.

Postgraduate Certificates and Diplomas

Postgraduate Diplomas (PGDip) and Certificates (PGCert) are shorter taught postgraduate courses comprised of 120 and 60 credits, respectively. They include master's-level content but take less time to complete and may be designed to further your skills in a certain area or train you for a specific career path.

Postgraduate Certificate in Education (PGCE)

The Postgraduate Certificate in Education (PGCE) is an academic qualification that you can receive during your teacher training. We offer PGCE courses in Mathematics and Physical Education.