The information below is for applicants commencing study in the 2022/23 academic year. This page will be updated with information for 2023/24 once it is available.

These scholarships are designed to enable talented and motivated individuals to gain the knowledge and skills required for sustainable development, and are aimed at those who could not otherwise afford to study in the UK.

These scholarships are offered under six themes:

  • science and technology for development
  • strengthening health systems and capacity
  • promoting global prosperity
  • strengthening global peace, security and governance
  • strengthening resilience and response to crises
  • access, inclusion and opportunity.

Scholarships for UK PhD study are available to students from the following countries: Bangladesh, Cameroon, The Gambia, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Nigeria, Pakistan, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Tanzania, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia. 

If you are interested in applying for a Commonwealth Scholarship, then you will need to be supported by your home country’s nominating body. Full details are available on the Commonwealth website.

Each nominating body is responsible for its own selection process and may have additional eligibility criteria. You must check with your nominating body for their specific advice and rules for applying, and for their own closing date for applications. 

You must make your application using the CSC’s online application system, in addition to any other application that you are required to complete by your nominating body. The CSC will not accept any applications that are not submitted via the online application system

The application deadline for 2022/23 has now passed. We will support applications for 2023/24 once dates have been announced. Application deadlines are usually October/November.

Commonwealth scholarships provide tuition fees and stipend for three years and airfare to and from the UK. Some students may also be eligible for a family allowance.