Teaching Awards applications for 2023 now open

Applications for the 2023 Teaching Best Practice Awards, Teaching Innovation Awards and Research-informed Teaching Awards are now open. More information about each set of awards can be found below.

Teaching Best Practice Awards

The Teaching Best Practice Awards have been created to celebrate our excellent teaching at Loughborough University and to recognise colleagues for their continued efforts to innovate and inspire our students.

This award aims to capture outstanding examples of teaching happening at Loughborough and to share the ideas across our community and honour those who have delivered on these activities.

See examples of previous winners and case studies.

Teaching Innovation Awards

The Teaching Innovation Awards (TIAs) support innovation which positively impacts students’ academic experience and enhances the teaching quality at Loughborough University.

As new developments appear across both campuses, there may be initiatives you wish to research or implement to support staff or students to advance in terms of teaching environments, uses of technology or approaches to learning.

There are four categories in the TIAs:

  • Teaching Innovation Award
  • Inclusivity in Teaching TIA
  • Student Education Research Placement TIA

The Teaching Innovation Award and Inclusivity in Teaching TIA provide funds up to a maximum of £3,000 per project, although this can be increased to £5,000 in exceptional cases.

The STEMLab TIA and Student Education Research Placement TIA offer funds for a Summer Placement Student for up to 10 weeks (this can be divided into two students at five weeks).

Read more information about the TIAs including application guidance.

Research-informed Teaching Awards

The Research-informed Teaching Awards (RiTAs) are a prestigious annual award which seeks to recognise and celebrate academic staff who have made a sustained and outstanding contribution to the promotion of research-informed teaching that has a direct impact on the student learning experience at Loughborough University.

In 2022, two members of staff received RiTAs: Dr Iris Wigger and Sharon Cook. Find out more about their work.

If you are interested in applying for an award it is recommended you speak to colleagues in the Enhanced Academic Practice team when compiling your application - please contact Samantha Chester or Sarah Bamforth.


The deadline for submissions for the Teaching Awards is 5pm, Wednesday 1 March.

For information on all the awards, guidance, application forms and previous winners, visit the Organisational Development Hub webpages.