Then and now
Throughout history, our iconic landmarks have stood the test of time and the campus itself has grown to ensure that our students have the best all-round experience – both academically and socially.
Take a look and see exactly how Loughborough has changed with time.
One of the most iconic buildings on campus, Hazlerigg Hall was officially opened in 1938 by Sir Arthur Hazlerigg, the Lord Lieutenant of Leicestershire. In the centre of the grassed area is the fountain which was a gift from the College Students’ Union.
At the opening of Rutland Hall in 1932 Schofield announced that William Bastard, the Chairman of College Governors, had kindly donated a gift to the College. The gates – fondly known as the Bastard Gates – have since formed the official entrance to Rutland Hall and the College Athletic Ground.
In 1980 the Pilkington Library was opened with four times the capacity of the previous library which was located in the Manzoni building.
James Watt Steam Engine
Built in 1850, the James Watt Steam Engine was donated to the college in 1934 by the London Metropolitan Water Board and constructed by students – it can still be seen today by the Bastard Gates.
One of the pleasant remnants of the Burleigh Estate is the Walled Garden, beyond which can be seen the old cottage, reputed to be the oldest complete dwelling in Loughborough.