Centres for Doctoral Training

Centres for Doctoral Training (CDTs) are multi-disciplinary centres located at our Loughborough campus. These centres bring together various areas of expertise in order to solve the research challenges of tomorrow.

Funded by research councils, such as the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC), the Natural Environment Research Council (NERC), the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC), and the Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC), CDTs provide unique opportunities for students who wish to receive the technical and research knowledge and skills to tackle current and future problems.

CDTs are research groups which aim to understand a specific issue. They are comprised of research students and staff both at Loughborough and partner universities and companies, drawing on the expertise of each to address the research problem. As such, students may be expected to spend time away from Loughborough at partner institutions and organisations.

CDT programmes are typically studied across four years, with the first year mostly consisting of training and skills development, followed by three years researching an agreed topic. Throughout the programme students are given opportunities to engage with industry and develop important transferable skills to enhance their employability.

We also have a series of mini-CDTs, based exclusively at Loughborough, addressing issues in the arts and humanities, social sciences and fundamental science. These mini-CDTs explore interdisciplinary research areas or translate expertise into new application areas, with students benefiting from cross-discipline activity. Studentships covering the full cost of UK/ EU tuition fees and a stipend are available for students from a range of disciplines.