People and Organisational Development

Equality, diversity & inclusion

University Self-Assessment Team

University Self-Assessment Team

The University Self-Assessment Team (USAT) is a well-established and influential group that manages an active programme of engagement and consultation to ensure that Athena SWAN principles are embedded at levels from the Vice Chancellor's Senior Team to individual staff in academic schools.

The USAT is chaired by the University's Athena SWAN Champion, Professor Steve Rothberg (Pro Vice-Chancellor) and consists of members of staff from across the University including Human Resources, the Planning Team (Vice-Chancellor's Office), and those from across each School.

The USAT is a permanent feature in the University's equality and diversity processes and Athena SWAN is formally part of the Human Resources Committee's terms of reference.

As a minimum, the USAT meet on a bi-monthly basis to monitor, evaluate and support the progress of the institutional and School actions plans as well as offering support to Schools working towards Athena SWAN awards and renewals.

The USAT has a responsibility for influencing polices and behaviours wherever improvements regarding gender equality are required, as well as running a gender equality events programme centred on an annual prestige lecture. 

USAT Terms of Reference

  • To ensure that the University promotes gender equality across the institution, in accordance with the Athena SWAN charter and principles.
  • To support preparation of institutional Athena SWAN Award submissions and to implement and evaluate progress against the associated action plan.
  • To encourage STEMM Schools within the University to apply for Athena SWAN Awards and to support those applications.
  • To support Schools in their preparation of Athena SWAN Award submissions, and in their implementation of associated action plans, including evaluation of progress against their action plans.
  • To identify gender equality issues for further consideration at Academic Leadership Team, Human Resources Committee and others as appropriate.