Honorary Graduates and University Medallists

At Loughborough, we have a tradition of recognising exceptional individuals from within and outside the University.

Honorary Graduates

Loughborough University bestows honorary degrees on individuals who have made a significant contribution to fields the University has close links with. This could be sport, engineering, social policy, or one of the other academic or industrial areas in which Loughborough is a leading institution.


  • Commodore David Pond - DUniv - Former Chief Executive Officer, Great Britain Wheelchair Rugby


  • Ivan Browne - DUniv - Director of Public Health, Leicester City Council
  • Mike Sandys - DUniv - Director of Public Health, Leicestershire County Council


  • Bessie Chelemu - DUniv - Director of Sport in Ministry of Youth and Sport Development, Zambia
  • Danny Kerry - DUniv - Head Coach (Men) Great Britain and England Hockey
  • Matt Gotrel - DUniv - Olympic Gold Medallist (Rowing), Team GB
  • Elizabeth Nicholl - DUniv - In recognition of her outstanding and sustained contribution to British high performance sport. President of International Netball Federation


  • Giselle Ansley MBE, Dr Hannah Macleod MBE, Madeleine Hinch MBE, Nicola White MBE - DUniv - Olympic Gold medallists (Womens Hockey, Team GB)
  • Melanie Marshall - DUniv - National Centre Lead Coach - British Swimming Federation (Loughborough Alumni)
  • Dan Greaves - DUniv - Paralympic Gold Medallist (Discus), Team GB (Loughborough Alumni)
  • Liam Heath - DUniv - Olympic Gold Medallist (200m individual Kayak canoe sprint), Team GB (Loughborough Alumni)


  • Mrs Penny Briscoe OBE - DUniv - Director of Sport, British Paralympic Association


  • Professor David Delpy - DSc - Former Chief Executive of EPSRC and former Vice-Provost for Research, UCL


  • Professor Clyde Williams - DSc


  • David Collier - DUniv - Chief Executive, England and Wales Cricket Board and Chairman International Hockey Rules Board
  • Ian Drake - DUniv - Chief Executive Officer, British Cycling


  • Adrian Moorhouse MBE - DUniv - Chief Executive Lane4, Official Team GB 2012 Ambassador, Sports Commentator for the BBC


  • Herbert Hainer - DUniv - CEO, adidas AG
  • Mr Mihir Bose - DLitt - Broadcaster and Writer
  • Professor Julietta Patnick - DSc - Director of the NHS Cancer Screening Programmes
  • Peter Keen CBE - DUniv - Performance Special Adviser, UK Sport
  • Matt Hampson - DUniv - Founder of the Matt Hampson Foundation

University Medals

The Loughborough University medal is granted to members of the University who have made a distinctive and long-running contribution to the University. University medallists have championed the values of the University throughout long careers and consistently performed above-and-beyond the call of their duties.


  • Rex Hazeldine - Sports coaching legend
  • Fiona McLaughlin - School of Sport, Exercise and Health Sciences


  • Tim Garfield