Region’s universities sign first-ever agreement to tackle local issues together

Universities and councils across Leicestershire have signed an historic agreement to work together to drive economic growth and tackle social challenges across the region.

The University of Leicester (UoL), De Montfort University (DMU) and Loughborough University have agreed to combine skills, experience and resources to deliver joint projects supporting the local economy, arts and culture, sports and more.

Called the Universities Partnership, it has been drawn up by the universities together with a number of local authorities: Leicester City Council, Leicestershire County Council, Oadby and Wigston Borough Council, Rutland County Council, and Charnwood Borough Council.

In working with local authorities across the region in this way, the agreement is a unique collaborative approach which will help direct work carried out into projects which will provide the most benefit to the area.

The universities will work together on projects in five key areas:

Education - working in partnership with local schools, colleges, businesses and wider communities, the universities will support the educational recovery from the COVID-19 pandemic by creating educational skills and opportunities that enable local people from all backgrounds to flourish.

The economy – the universities will help drive inward investment into the region, build partnerships with businesses, work to retain more graduates locally, invest in local resources and apply the world-leading research carried out on campus directly into the community.

Sport, health and wellbeing – the universities will work with local communities to identify the health inequalities in Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland and, through using expertise and working with health partners, improve the health and wellbeing of diverse communities.

Environmental sustainability – along with reducing their own carbon footprints, the universities will encourage behavioural change across the region through educational programmes, including carbon literacy training and sustainability audits. They will also deliver research which can support adaptation to climate change and ensure clean, affordable air, water, sanitation and energy for the region.

Arts, culture and heritage – Working with partners and communities, the universities will work to enhance the thriving local arts, creative, cultural and heritage landscape, by supporting and holding bold, creative cultural events. They will also creatively celebrate the region’s diversity and inclusion and promote the region as a national destination.

The agreement has been spearheaded by the universities’ three Vice-Chancellors, Professor Katie Normington of DMU, Professor Nishan Canagarajah of University of Leicester and Professor Nick Jennings of Loughborough University.

In a joint statement, the three VCs said: “Any university is only as strong as the communities within which it operates, and all three of our institutions are fortunate to uphold long-standing connections to the people of Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland.

“In signing this historic agreement, we pledge to combine our diverse expertise to tackle the challenges which face us all, and to provide an even greater positive impact on our region. While we celebrate our differences, the common values which we all sustain ensure that we are stronger together, as a Universities Partnership.”