photo of winning students at presentation for the Mentor30Engineers competition

Photo credit: Sainsbury Management Fellows

Loughborough student engineers announced as winners of competition

Four University students and one alumnus have been named winners of the Mentor30Engineers competition.

The competition was launched to celebrate 30 years of the Sainsbury Management Fellows Scholarship Scheme, and looked for engineers across the UK who would like to be mentored by a Sainsbury Management Fellow over three years of their early career or university studies.

The winning Loughborough students were Fejiro Amam, Leah Edwards, Matt Parkes (MEng Mechanical Engineering) and Daniella Franklin (MEng Product Design Engineering).

In addition, recent graduate James Rogers, who now works as a Stress Engineer at Rolls-Royce, was also crowned a winner.

The Loughborough family made up five of the overall 14 winners of the competition.

The engineers were required to write an essay about an inspirational and bold new idea that could solve problems in society, focusing on key areas including the environment, healthcare, financial planning and social care.

Ideas from the Loughborough University students included the creation of a central operating system to manage hospitals in an effort to reduce waiting times; helping to protect the environment by creating a carbon emissions labelling system for food packaging; and optimising monsoon rains in developing countries using perched plastic aquifers to collect water that can support a community’s needs.

Student Leah Edwards, said: “I really enjoyed writing my essay for the Mentor30Engineers competition - exploring an idea and its business feasibility was a great creative outlet.

“My mentor will be providing guidance on my professional development and advancement which will be invaluable in any future business ventures. Attending the Sainsbury's Management Fellows annual dinner was such a fantastic experience, I met so many interesting and inspiring people there. 

For more information and for a full list of the winners, visit the website.