Aeronautical and Automotive Engineering


19 Jul 2017

Graduation July 2017

Auto mortars 2017 x 670

Following the formal award ceremony where degrees were conveyed to our students, family, friends, staff and of course the Graduates themselves, joined together for a celebratory lunch.

After lunch, the Head of the Department, Professor Martin Passmore congratulated the students and presented prizes to students and staff who had excelled over the course of the last year:

BAE Systems Prize for Aerospace Engineering

A prize plus a certificate, to be awarded annually to the student graduating in Aerospace Engineering who produced the best personal project.

Bilal Javed MIR (not present)

Ryan Cosgrove x 250



Royal Aeronautical Society Prize

A prize is awarded to the best all-round final year Aeronautical Engineering student.

Ryan Thomas COSGROVE (pictured left with Dr Chris Harvey, Aeronautical Engineering Programme Director and Prof Passmore)

Emma Corfield x 250


Churchill Prize

A prize awarded for the Aeronautical Engineering undergraduate student with the best individual research project in the field of applied aerodynamics.

Emma CORFIELD (right) 

School Placement Award - The School of AACME Enterprise Placement Award again goes to Emma CORFIELD  

James Grant x 250

Ford Final Year Automotive Engineering Prize  

A prize awarded to the final-year MEng Automotive Engineering student with the highest overall degree mark.

James GRANT (left, pictured with Dr Dan O'Boy, Automotive Engineering Programme Director and Prof Passmore)


Jonathan Young Memorial Prize

A prize is awarded to the student submitting the best applied final year project on the degree programme in Automotive Engineering in the view of the programme board.

Jonathan Young was an Automotive Engineering undergraduate at the University who undertook a final year project which involved taking measurements from an electric go-cart. He stayed in the University's Electric Vehicle lab following his graduation to carry on working on the electric kart. In August 1995 he won the Top Gear Challenge Cup at the international electric vehicle meeting at Mallory Park. He died tragically prior to starting a job in industry. This prize in funded jointly by his father and the University.

Bryn WILLIAMS (not present)

Joe Bull x 250


Programme Director Award

Programme Director award for outstanding overall achievement in their final year.

MEng – Sascha KOVACS (below)

BEng - Joseph William BULL (right)

Sacha Kovacs x 250




Best Part-Time Student Project Prize

Prize awarded to the part-time student with the best automotive systems project.

James SIMMONDS (below pictured with Dr Stephen Walsh and Prof Passmore)

James Simmonds x 250




Teaching Awards

Awards for teaching during 2017

Dr James Knowles, Mr John Newton and Dr Jane Horner (pictured from left to right below along with Prof Passmore)

Teaching awards x 250




The Department of Aeronautical and Automotive Engineering offers its congratulations to our most recent Graduates.  We wish them all the best in their future engineering careers!



Thanks are given to David Monks at Rolls Royce Motorcars who donated the Rolls Royce for the event. (Top photograph)