Media Centre

Press releases

University seeks nominations from Loughborough residents for student awards

Last year’s winners Billy Marsh (far left), Rebecca Wilison (second from left), Andrew Brackett (far right) and Scarlett MacLean (second from right).

Nominations are now being accepted for two prizes which are awarded annually by the University to recognise good work completed by students in the community.

Residents are asked to submit their nominations by 22 March for the TS Shipman and Hannah Community Prizes.

The TS Shipman Prize is given to students of the University or College who are considered to have contributed most to the development of co-operation and aid between the institutions and the local community.  The prize comes from a fund presented to the University by the TS Shipman Trust, established by the former joint Manager Director of Leicester company AA Jones and Shipman – one of the largest machine tool manufacturers in Britain in the 1960s.

The Hannah Community Prize seeks to recognise students for showing acts of kindness or for general good neighbourliness.  The award uses funds originally bequeathed to the University in memory of Mr George Alexander Hannah who studied at Loughborough during his retirement.

An awards ceremony will be held later in the year to honour and thank the students for their contributions.

Alison Barlow, University community relations officer comments: “Every year we receive excellent and well deserved nominations for students which are prime examples of the valued contributions that students make to the local community.

“We are confident of more good examples this year and need local residents to let us know about the activities of students they are in touch with or who live close by.”

Nominations for the two awards can be made by any member of the Charnwood community and should be submitted to

A nomination form is available on the University website by visiting the link here.


Notes for editors

Press release reference number: PR 13/21

Loughborough is one of the country’s leading universities, with an international reputation for research that matters, excellence in teaching, strong links with industry, and unrivalled achievement in sport and its underpinning academic disciplines.

It was awarded the coveted Sunday Times University of the Year 2008-09 title, and is consistently ranked in the top twenty of UK universities in national newspaper league tables. In the 2011 National Student Survey, Loughborough was voted one of the top universities in the UK, and has topped the Times Higher Education league for the Best Student Experience in England every year since the poll's inception in 2006. In recognition of its contribution to the sector, the University has been awarded six Queen's Anniversary Prizes.

It is a member of the 1994 Group of 11 leading research-intensive universities. The Group was established in 1994 to promote excellence in university research and teaching. Each member undertakes diverse and high-quality research, while ensuring excellent levels of teaching and student experience.


Alison Barlow
Community Relations Officer
Loughborough University
T: 01509 228696

PR team

Telephone: 01509 222224