TS Shipman Prize winners - May 2014

Outstanding community volunteering efforts honoured by University

TS Shipman Prize winners - May 2014

Loughborough University has honoured outstanding volunteers from campus and the wider community at its annual community prizes ceremony.

The ceremony took place at the Town Hall on 14 May.  Prizes were awarded to students of the University who have taken part in volunteering activity and cheques were presented from the Community Donations Fund to local groups to support wide ranging community initiatives across the Borough.

The student prizes were the TS Shipman Prize and Hannah Community Prize.  They recognise the development of co-operation and aid between the University and the Community and acts of kindness or good neighbourliness.

Receiving the T S Shipman Prize were: Rebecca Deakin, Stephanie Noble, Kate Saunders and Richard Thompson.

Rebecca, from the School of the Arts, was rewarded for her sustained involvement in LSU Action, especially commitment to organising special events for people across a wide age range.

Stephanie, from the Department of Geography, was recognised for the many hours that she has spent planning, arranging and supporting a wide range of activities within the University and the wider community. 

Kate, from the Design School, was honoured for her engagement with the business community in Loughborough; establishing TADA (That Awesome Design Association) to arrange ‘Local Fix’ sessions to tackle design issues and contributing to the Love Loughborough project. 

Richard, from the School of Civil & Building Engineering, was also honoured for his work as a volunteer coach, sharing his significant life-saving expertise and experience.   

The recipients of the Hannah Community Prize were: The Loughborough Students’ Union Community Committee (Ellie Gyuarova, Gosia Ganter, Leah Olivia Downing, Bernice Bruce, Liam Peoples, Maddy Boulton, Sarah Millyard) and Lloyd Smith.

The LSU Community Committee was thanked for their ongoing work with students living off-campus to promote and improve good neighbourliness in the local community.

Lloyd Smith, from the Maths Department was recognised for his acts of kindness helping those less fortunate than himself through his work with Samaritans within Leicestershire.

Community Donations Fund cheques were presented to: Abel Camp, Charnwood Talking News, Loughborough Council of Faiths, Loughborough War Memorial Museum Trust, Minnie’s Friends, Oaks in Charnwood Senior Citizens Club, Shepshed ALLeY Group, Warning Zone, Wenlo Riding for the Disabled Group, Age UK Leicestershire & Rutland, the 1st Nanpantan Scout Group and 8th Loughborough Brownies/Rainbows.

The University’s Chief Operating Officer, Richard Taylor presented the awards.  Commenting on the event he said:  “Volunteers give their time because they care.  They get very little recognition for the many hours they invest in helping others.  It was an honour and a privilege to be able to present these awards to support voluntary organisations and volunteers in our community and, in particular, to recognise the part our students play.”

Joining Richard at the ceremony was the Mayor of Charnwood, Councillor Paul Day and other local dignitaries.

Upcoming events

View all events