Loughborough University
Leicestershire, UK
LE11 3TU
+44 (0)1509 222222
Loughborough University

Community Information


University prize giving ceremony honours student community volunteers

18 June 2012

Four outstanding student volunteers have been honoured for their efforts by Loughborough University.

The University presents the TS Shipman Prize and Hannah Community Prize annually to recognise and reward its students who have taken part in community activities. 

The TS Shipman Prize is for students of the University or College who are considered to have contributed most to the development of co-operation and aid between the University or College and the local community.  The assessor panel decided to award three students the 2012 prize.

Scarlett MacLean from the School of Art and Design and Billy Marsh from the School of Social, Political and Geographical Sciences were jointly honoured for their impressive and committed response to a ‘real need’ in the community to provide services to vulnerable people.  Their commitment to providing a continuity of these services during the Christmas holiday period was particularly commended.

Rebecca Willison from the School of Sport, Exercise and Health Sciences was also honoured for her sustained and impressive commitment to sports for local children.  The panel were particular impressed with the number of volunteers Rebecca had managed to organise and recruit which contributed to her ability to expand the project into different schools.

The Hannah Community Prize is specifically to recognise students’ acts of kindness or good neighbourliness.  The Prize is in memory of a former student, Mr George Alexander Hannah and the financial reward for the winners comes from funds bequeathed to the University in his memory.

Andrew Brackett, School of Sport, Exercise and Health Sciences received this award for his individually undertaken, selfless, sustained commitment to the local community. The assessment panel felt that Andrew had demonstrated genuine concern and care for a vulnerable member of the community continuing his commitment to study, a job and church work.

Professor Morag Bell, Pro Vice Chancellor for Teaching at the University presented the certificates and financial prizes in a ceremony that took place at Loughborough Town Hall at the end of May.

Morag commented: “This prize giving event is an important one in the University calendar and we are always delighted to honour our student volunteers for their outstanding contributions to a diverse range of projects and organisations across the Borough.”

Morag was joined at the event by the new Charnwood Borough Council Mayor, Councillor Diane Wise and other local Councillors, dignitaries and guests.


For all media enquiries contact:

Alison Barlow
Community Relations Officer
Loughborough University
T: 01509 228696
E: A.J.Barlow@lboro.ac.uk 

Notes for editors:

Loughborough is one of the country’s leading universities, with an international reputation for research that matters, excellence in teaching, strong links with industry, and unrivalled achievement in sport and its underpinning academic disciplines.

It was awarded the coveted Sunday Times University of the Year 2008-09 title, and is consistently ranked in the top twenty of UK universities in national newspaper league tables. In the 2011 National Student Survey, Loughborough was voted one of the top universities in the UK, and has topped the Times Higher Education league for the UK’s Best Student Experience every year since the poll's inception in 2006. In recognition of its contribution to the sector, the University has been awarded six Queen's Anniversary Prizes.

Loughborough is also the UK’s premier university for sport. It has perhaps the best integrated sports development environment in the world and is home to some of the country’s leading coaches, sports scientists and support staff. It also has the country’s largest concentration of world-class training facilities across a wide range of sports.

It is a member of the 1994 Group of 19 leading research-intensive universities. The Group was established in 1994 to promote excellence in university research and teaching. Each member undertakes diverse and high-quality research, while ensuring excellent levels of teaching and student experience.