Modules and credits


When you apply to Loughborough, you will be registered as an exchange student in a host School/Department. This is usually the School/Department with which your home institution has a student exchange agreement. 

It is our expectation that you will participate in a full credit-bearing modules whilst at Loughborough (usually 30 ECTS credits per semester), but the requirements will vary according to your chosen subject area. When completing your learning agreement it is, therefore, recommended that you follow the advice provided by your home institution and that you consult Loughborough University's Module Catalogue, linked below. 

If you have any queries about Loughborough University modules, please contact the respective School/Department Exchange Co-ordinator. 

European Credit Transfer System (ECTS)

This section is relevant to European (Erasmus+) students.

ECTS credits are a value allocated to course units to describe the student workload required to complete them. They reflect the quantity of work each course requires in relation to the total quantity of work required to complete a full year of academic study.

  • 60 credits represent one year of study
  • 30 credits are normally given for six months (one semester of study)
  • Loughborough University's modular scheme divides an academic year's work for an undergraduate student into 120 credit units. Loughborough University has adopted ECTS principles for all its exchange activities. Requests for further information should be sent to the appropriate School/Departmental Exchange Co-ordinator.

Transcript of records

At the end of your exchange period you should request a transcript from your host School/Department.  This will be issued as soon as all module marks have been uploaded and will include an explanation of how credits and grades can be transferred.