Project Enable - Meet the team

Core team

Jenna Townend

Jenna Townend

Pronouns: She/her

Strategic Change Programme Manager

Matt Youngs

Matt Youngs

Pronouns: He/him

Graduate Management Trainee

Programme board

Project Enable’s Programme Board is responsible for setting the strategic direction of the project. It meets bi-monthly and currently holds a membership of the following individuals:

  • Richard Taylor, Chief Operating Officer (Chair)
  • Prof. Chris Linton, Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor
  • Dr. Manuel Alonso, Associate Chief Operating Officer and Director of Student Services
  • Ffyona Baker, Director of Organisational Development and Change
  • Miranda Routledge, Director of Planning
  • Prof. Lisanne Gibson, Dean of the School of Social Sciences and Humanities
  • Dr. Jenna Townend, Strategic Chance Programme Manager
  • Prof. Lauren Sherar, Associated Dean for Teaching in the School of Sport, Exercise, and Health Sciences
  • Prof. Peter Kawalek, Professor of Information Management in the School of Business and Economics
  • Tom Carslake, Operations Manager for the School Aeronautical, Automotive, Chemical, and Materials Engineering
  • Matt Youngs, Graduate Management Trainee


In order to better understand the challenges faced by colleagues from across the institution, a team of volunteer observers has been created to capture views and opinions through 1:1 conversations. Observers are drawn from across the spectrum of work at Loughborough, including members of professional services and academic staff. The conversations seek to help us understand how, through our processes, systems and ways of working, work manifests for colleagues in a range of job roles. Barriers and challenges faced by colleagues will also be explored, together with what we might be able to stop/do differently. The findings from our observation conversations directly inform the priorities and workstreams of the project.

Our Observer team comprises:

  • Aisha Benachour, Student Support Team Manager (AACME)
  • Clare Edwards, Research Development Manager
  • Dawn Matthews, Planning Officer
  • Emily Rousham, Professor of Global Public Health (SSEHS)
  • Fiona Reed, Partnership Development Manager
  • Hannah Sutcliffe, Student Support Coordinator (AACME)
  • Helen Young, Academic Services Manager (Library)
  • Izabelle Bimson, IT Services
  • Jenna Townend, Strategic Change Programme Manager
  • Jennifer Nutkins, Academic Registrar
  • Julie Turner, Strategic Scientific Technical Lead (Health and Safety)
  • Kirsty Carter, Planning Officer
  • Matt Youngs, Graduate Management Trainee
  • Neil Budworth, Director of Health, Safety and Wellbeing
  • Sally-Anne Taylor, Organisational Development Admin Team Leader
  • Sarah Dobbing, Student Admin Manager (Design and Creative Arts)
  • Sue Hignett, Professor of Healthcare Ergonomic and Patient Safety (Design and Creative Arts)
  • Sue Manuel, IT Services
  • Tom Carslake, Operations Manager (AACME)

The activity of our observer team will remain active for the duration of the project. If you would like to join the observer team as a volunteer or would like to speak to one of the team about something that you believe we could do more efficiently or stop doing, visit our ‘Get involved’ section.