IT User Account
The quickest way to change your password is by logging onto a campus PC.
Once logged on, click Ctrl+Alt+Del on your keyboard. This will bring up a short menu, where you can access password settings, and change your password.
Alternatively, you can reset your password here.
Don't worry! You can call the IT Service Desk on 01509 222333, and they can help you retrieve your credentials. For security reasons, this cannot be done via email.
If you have enrolled and registered 4 personal questions in the Password Managment Portal, you will be able to reset your password here.
Alternatively, you can contact the IT Service Desk on 01509 222333. They will be able to issue a new password by phone (for security this cannot be done by email).
Once you receive this, you should change your password to something only you know, and enrol onto the Password Management portal.
No. If you are returning to study in the next academic year, on your current programme, your account will remain the same.
No. If you are completing a Placement in the next academic year, your account will remain the same and you should continue to check it.
Yes, your account will be continued as you retain the same student record. Although we suggest still backing up your data on to a personal account once you have finished your pre-sessional course.
On completion or termination of your studies, your student record will be updated to reflect that you are leaving. Once your record shows you have completed or terminated your studies, your IT user account will enter a 30 day expiry period. Unfortunately, we cannot specify the exact date that this will happen, as it varies from course to course.
Emails about graduation, or anything else relating to the University, will be sent to your personal email address that is on your student record.
Yes, if you are returning to study on a different programme then your account will expire as if you were permanently leaving the University. Please back up all your data attached to your student account.
- If you return to do Postgraduate Taught Study (inc. Masters), your account will be reactivated when you return. Previous data will NOT be accessible when you return, so you need to back up the data from your previous account.
- If you return to do Postgraduate Research Study, you will be issued with a brand new account when you return, so you need to back up the data from your previous account.
If you are doing resits, we would not expect your account to expire until you complete the resit exams. During this period you still have access to email, Office 365, Learn, and your OneDrive account.
It is only when your student record is marked to say you have completed, left/withdrawn, or similar that your account would go into the 30-day expiry period.
IT Services do not control your student record so it can be difficult for us to say when the status change will happen, as it varies between schools.
No, you will lose access to the Self Service portal as soon as you are marked as having completed your course. Please take time before then to update your personal details such as your personal email address.
For more information please contact the IT Service Desk via IT.Services@lboro.ac.uk
Can I link or set up forwarding rules for my University email account to a personal account during the 30 day expiry period?
We do not support email automatic forwarding rules. During the 30 day expiry period, you will still have full access to your University email account and thus can manually forward any important emails from your University email to your personal account if you need to retain them.
You will need to change all areas where your University email account is mentioned to a personal email address to ensure you continue to receive important emails.
Yes. As LinkedIn Learning is attached to your University account, you will lose access to this when your account expires.
What will happen to the downloaded version of Microsoft Office 2016 on my device when I leave the University?
When you leave the University, your copy of Microsoft Office 2016 will be reduced to read-only functionality. This means that you will only be able to view your documents on the software, and will have to purchase your own license to gain full edit functionality.