Loughborough University
Leicestershire, UK
LE11 3TU
+44 (0)1509 263171
Loughborough University

News and events

Latest news from Loughborough University

11 July 2008 PR 08/109

Opera singer and Welsh rugby legend among those to be honoured by Loughborough University

Loughborough University will confer honorary degrees upon sixteen distinguished people at this summer’s degree ceremonies, in recognition of their outstanding contributions to industry, academia, business, sport, the arts and society.

Among those receiving awards are tenor Ian Storey, who graduated from Loughborough in 1980 with a degree in Furniture Design before embarking on a career in opera, and Welsh rugby legend Gerald Davies, who has been appointed manager for the 2009 British and Irish Lions tour to South Africa.

The awards will be presented as follows:

Thursday 17 July at 10.30am

Professor Wendy Hall
Professor of Computer Science and former Head of the School of Electronics and Computer Science, University of Southampton
Honorary Doctor of Science (Hon DSc)
For her outstanding contributions to research in computer science and to leadership in science and technology

Michael Pearson
Former University Bursar
Honorary Doctor of the University (Hon DUniv)
For his services to the University

Fawaz AlHokair
Chairman, Fawaz AlHokair Group
Honorary Doctor of the University (Hon DUniv)
For outstanding leadership in the field of international retail business

Thursday 17 July at 3pm

Professor Celia Hoyles
Professor of Mathematics Education, Institute of Education, University of London
Honorary Doctor of Science (Hon DSc)
For her outstanding contribution to mathematics education

Professor C C Chan
President of the Electrical Vehicle Association of Asia Pacific and Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering UK
Honorary Doctor of Technology (Hon DTech)
For his contribution to the advancement of electric vehicles

Friday 18 July at 10.30am

Gerald Davies
Sports journalist and 2009 British and Irish Lions tour manager
Honorary Doctor of Letters (Hon DLitt)
For his outstanding contribution to rugby

Professor Arne Ljungqvist
Chairman, IOC Medical Commission
Honorary Doctor of Science (Hon DSc)
For his commitment to sports medicine

Friday 18 July at 3pm

Richard Foreman
Author and playwright
Honorary Doctor of Letters (Hon DLitt)
For his outstanding contribution to experimentation and development in the creative arts
(Richard Foreman will receive his award in absentia)

Peter Haslehurst
Member of the University Council
Honorary Doctor of Science (Hon DSc)
For his outstanding contribution to the chemicals industry and dedication and commitment to the financial governance of Loughborough University

Ian Storey
Opera Singer
Honorary Doctor of Letters (Hon DLitt)
For his outstanding contribution to opera

Monday 21 July at 10.30am

George Gandy
Director of Athletics
Honorary Doctor of the University (Hon DUniv)
For his outstanding contribution to athletics at Loughborough

Dato Peter Velappan
General Secretary of the Asian Football Federation
Honorary Doctor of the University (Hon DUniv)
For his outstanding contribution to football in Asia and worldwide

Monday 21 July at 3pm

Farid Khamis
Chairman and Chief Executive of Oriental Weavers; Main sponsor and Chairman of the Board of Trustees, British University in Egypt
Honorary Doctor of the University (Hon DUniv)
For services to education, research and community development

Sir Derek Plumbly
Former UK Ambassador to Egypt
Honorary Doctor of the University (Hon DUniv)
For his personal support for the development of the British University in Egypt

Tuesday 22 July at 10.30am

Harry and Gail Moore
Founders of the Rainbows Hospice
Honorary Doctors of the University (Hon DUniv)
For their outstanding service to the community

Approximately 3,000 students will receive their awards at the same ceremonies, which will be broadcast live on the University’s web site at www.lboro.ac.uk/graduation

– Ends –

For all media enquiries contact:

Notes for editors:

  1. Members of the media are welcome to attend the graduation ceremonies, which will take place in the Sir David Wallace building on the University campus. There will also be opportunities for interviews, photography and filming of the honorary graduates in the Sir John Beckwith Centre for Sport (Lecture Theatre) thirty minutes prior to the start of each ceremony. You are asked to access the campus via the main University entrance on Epinal Way. Please inform the Public Relations Office on 01509 222224, in advance, if you wish to attend.

  2. Loughborough is one of the country’s leading universities, with an international reputation for excellence in teaching and research, strong links with industry and unrivalled sporting achievement.

    It is a member of the esteemed 1994 Group – a set of internationally recognised, research intensive universities – and has a reputation for the relevance of its work. Its degree programmes are highly regarded by professional institutions and businesses, and its graduates are consistently targeted by the UK’s top recruiters.

    Loughborough is also the UK’s premier university for sport. It has perhaps the best integrated sports development environment in the world and is home to some of the country’s leading coaches, sports scientists and support staff. It also has the country’s largest concentration of world-class training facilities across a wide range of sports.

    In the 2007 National Student Survey, the University was voted fourth in the UK, with 23 out of 29 of Loughborough’s subject areas being ranked in the top ten for overall satisfaction. Loughborough is also ranked in the top fifteen of UK universities in national league tables. It was named winner of the 2006 and 2007 Times Higher award for the UK’s Best Student Experience and winner of the 2007 award for Outstanding Support for Overseas Students. In recognition of its contribution to the sector, the University has been awarded six Queen's Anniversary Prizes – an achievement bettered by no other university.

Search news

Contact us

Public Relations Office
Loughborough University
LE11 3TU

Tel: 01509 222224
Fax: 01509 223902

Find out more

Page maintained by: publicrelations@lboro.ac.uk
This page was last updated on Wednesday September 21, 2011 10:46