Sports Technology Institute


Ms Katrine Okholm Kryger MSc Biomedical Engineering, Arts et Métiers ParisTech & Université Paris Descartes, Paris, France, 2014, BSc Sports Rehabilitation, University of Hull, UK, 2012

Photo of Ms Katrine Okholm Kryger

Postgraduate Researcher


I grew up in Denmark. After finishing the Danish equivalent of A levels in 2009, I moved to Kingston Upon Hull to start my bachelor studies in sports rehabilitation. Throughout my studies I obtained a good understanding of treatment, problems related to injury and prevention strategies from placements with Grimsby Town FC, a tennis academy, rugby league and union teams. I gained a passion for biomechanics, which I explored further in my masters, biomedical engineering specialised in injury and impact mechanisms, which was taught by researchers from the French car safety industry and sports medicine field. Throughout my masters I spent 2 months at the Department of Sports Science and Clinical Biomechanics at the University of Southern Denmark, 7 months at IRMES (Institute for Biomedical and Sports Epidemiology Research) at INSEP (the French Institute of Sport), where I published an epidemiology study on professional tennis, and 9 months at Loughborough’s Sports Technology Institute, where I did my master thesis testing the prototype of the UMBRO Velocita football boot (released on the market Jan 2015).

Current interests

My Ph.D. started in October 2014 focusing on understanding the optimal football boot design (performance, comfort and injury preventive focus). The main work is on developing valid test methods for human testing and by analysing the impact of design difference.

Out of the lab…

Outside of the Sports Technology Institute, I follow my passion for football. I play for Loughborough University Women’s Football Club and the university futsal team. I passionately follow my teams: Arsenal FC, Odense BK, PSG and, of course, Denmark. In addition to football, I play badminton, run and exercise. I also spend time travelling – especially back to my old ‘homes’ in Denmark and Paris to visit friends and family.