News and events


Sharon Cook accepting the President's Award on behalf of the school

Design School receives prestigious ergonomics awards

Loughborough Design School has received two 2017 Chartered Institute of Ergonomics and Human Factors (CIEHF) awards.

Roger Haslam accepting award

Presented at a ceremony in the Midlands last month, the CIEHF awards recognise excellence in advancing the ergonomics and human factors discipline in both research and practice.

Ergonomics and human factors involves the development and application of knowledge and techniques to improve interactions between people, products, equipment, environments and systems in all aspects of life. 

It contributes towards the world becoming a better, safer, more sustainable place in which to live and work through design.

The President’s Award was given to the Loughborough Design School (LDS), represented by Senior Lecturer Sharon Cook, for its significant contributions to research and development, and application of knowledge in the field over the past 50 years.

The award celebrates the contribution of past and present ergonomists to the ‘unique and authoritative influence’ the University has had, particularly in the areas of the ageing population, health and wellbeing, safety, energy and social deprivation; noting that three-quarters of the research undertaken by LDS has been independently identified as world-leading or internationally excellent.

Teaching quality was also commended, evidenced by course accreditation, strong industry links, high graduate employment rates and positive results in the National Student Survey.

Roger Haslam, Professor of Ergonomics at Loughborough, received the Sir Frederic Bartlett Award for his contributions to research, development and application of knowledge and scholarship in the field.

The nomination cited his ground-breaking research in the area of human factors aspects of health and safety and his roles as a past President of the CIEHF and current Editor-in-Chief of the international journal Ergonomics.

Professor George Havenith, Dean of Loughborough Design School, commented: “I am absolutely delighted that we have received the President’s Award, especially as it recognises colleagues past and present who have contributed so much to the school’s ongoing success.

“I would also like to congratulate Professor Haslam for his outstanding personal achievement.”