Media Centre

Press releases

Voluntary community efforts honoured by University

Loughborough University’s community prizes have been presented to four outstanding student volunteers.

The University presents the TS Shipman Prize and Hannah Community Prize annually to recognise and reward its students who have taken part in community activities. 

The TS Shipman Prize is for students of the University or College who are considered to have contributed most to the development of co-operation and aid between the University or College and the local community. The assessor panel decided to award two students with the 2013 prize.

Laura Church from the School of Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering was honoured for her long term commitment to working with children with learning difficulties. Laura committed a substantial amount of time each week to the ‘Kidz Club’ project.

Commenting on her award Laura said: “Kidz Klub is so much fun and has given me a real opportunity to get involved with the local community.”

School of the Arts student, Olivia Bauckham also received the award for her commitment to her work with disadvantaged children as part of the Twenty:Twenty Charity. After receiving her award at the ceremony last week Olivia said:

“I love being a part of the Loughborough community. As students we can live a fairly closed existence, so from the start I have sought to be involved with the town community.” 

The Hannah Community Prize is awarded to students to honour their acts of kindness or good neighbourliness.  The Prize is in memory of a former student, Mr George Alexander Hannah and the financial reward for the winners comes from funds bequeathed to the University in his memory.

The assessor panel awarded the prize to three deserving students.

Leah Downing from the School of the Arts was honoured in recognition of her consistent efforts to foster good relations between students and the local community in her role on the Loughborough Student Community Committee.

A joint prize was given to Mershal Kuah, School of Business and Economics, and U-Pen Tan, School of Sport, Exercise and Health Science in recognition of their efforts to improve the perception of students through acts of kindness and generosity.

The award ceremony was held at the Loughborough Town Hall last week where Professor Morag Bell, Pro Vice-Chancellor for Teaching presented the students with their certificates and financial awards. She was joined at the ceremony by Charnwood Borough Council’s Mayor, Cllr Sandie Forest, other local dignitaries, and the award winners and their guests.


Notes for editors

Press release reference number: PR 13/87

Loughborough is one of the country’s leading universities, with an international reputation for research that matters, excellence in teaching, strong links with industry, and unrivalled achievement in sport and its underpinning academic disciplines.

It was awarded the coveted Sunday Times University of the Year 2008-09 title, and is consistently ranked in the top twenty of UK universities in national newspaper league tables. In the 2011 National Student Survey, Loughborough was voted one of the top universities in the UK, and has been voted England's Best Student Experience for six years running in the Times Higher Education league. In recognition of its contribution to the sector, the University has been awarded six Queen's Anniversary Prizes.

It is a member of the 1994 Group of 11 leading research-intensive universities. The Group was established in 1994 to promote excellence in university research and teaching. Each member undertakes diverse and high-quality research, while ensuring excellent levels of teaching and student experience.


Hannah Bateson
Public Relations Office
Loughborough University
T: 01509 228658

PR team

Telephone: 01509 222224