Current Students and Staff

// University News

Technicians shortlisted for Papin Prizes

Technicians from the University have been nominated for a number of categories at this year’s Papin Prize, a ceremony dedicated to celebrating technical excellence and innovation in higher education and research.

The Papin Prizes are named after Denis Papin, a 17th-century technician who worked with Robert Boyle. Papin invented the steam digester and was one of the first technicians to publish in his own name. 

The shortlisted staff members are as follows: 

  • Contribution to Research – Aatif Patel 

This award is presented to a member of staff who has made a significant contribution to research. 

  • Technical team – School of Design and Creative Arts 

This category celebrates a group of technicians who have worked together to deliver excellence. 

  • The Professor Lord Bhattacharyya Lifetime Achievement Award – Alastair Daley 

An award that recognises the continued excellence and/or significant achievements across an individual’s technical career.  

Alastair Daley commented: “All I can say is I’m honoured and pleased to be nominated. I’d also say my longevity as a technician was in no small way due to the support and comradeship of my colleagues. Also, a testament to our collective dedication and versatility. Having a broad skill set is a real help to becoming a successful university technician.”  

Craig Brown, Steven Warren and Rachael Redford said of the Technical Team shortlisting: “We are immensely proud that the School of Design and Creative Arts technical staff have been shortlisted for this award. They have supported all our students throughout the pandemic through in-person teaching with a mixture of online tutorials, assessment and feedback. They have really gone the extra mile. 

“As a result, students were able to successfully complete practical projects and take part in the School’s physical Degree Show, which showcased the work of more than 500 students.” 

The winners will be announced on 10 November at the Higher Education Technician Summit, which celebrates the success and achievements of technicians in higher education and research.