Current Students and Staff

// University News

14 Jul 2016

The University awards its first cohort of University Fellowships

The Fellowships scheme, together with greater flexibility in workload distribution within Schools, replaces the former study leave scheme.

The first successful candidates are:

Dr Danish Malik (Aeronautical, Automotive, Chemical and Materials Engineering) – Anti-microbial resistance research

Dr Byron Mason (Aeronautical, Automotive, Chemical and Materials Engineering)– Digital engineering as applied in the automotive industry

Professor John Anderson (Social, Political and Geographical Sciences) – Environmental forcing and palaeogenetics

Dr Karen Lumsden (Social, Political and Geographical Sciences) – Crime, policing, victims and social media

Dr Laura Justham (Wolfson School of Mechanical, Electrical and Manufacturing Engineering) – Reimagining how we train the professional engineers of the future

Professor Chris Linton, Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor, said: “I am delighted that we have awarded these Fellowships. The quality of all applications was very strong and the Review Group was extremely impressed with the ambitions contained in them. I am confident that the work that will be undertaken as part of these Fellowships will bring about real benefits to the University.”

Information on the outcomes of the Fellowships will be made available in due course.

Further information on University Fellowships, including details of how to apply for the next round, is available on HR website.