Current Students and Staff

// University News

30 Jun 2015

Submit your entry for the East Midlands Innovation in Healthcare Awards

The second East Midlands Innovation in Healthcare Awards were launched on 22 June by the East Midlands Academic Health Science Network (EMAHSN) to recognise and celebrate innovation throughout the region.

Organisations across the East Midlands are encouraged to enter the awards scheme to showcase the incredible work of their staff to transform health and social care services for local people.

Prizes are available across six categories and entries are invited from staff at all levels, especially those on the frontline and at more junior levels who have introduced changes to tackle problems and improve services.

Last year’s inaugural awards – which attracted around 100 entries - provided a platform to support the development of a number of ground-breaking initiatives that will help save lives and improve services for patients.

There are six categories and winners will receive £3,000 to help develop the innovation, with £1,000 for two runners-up in each category.

In addition to the prize money EMAHSN offers wider support to develop innovations.

The six categories are:

1. Patient identified innovations: innovative projects, services or products developed from patient input, ideas or suggestions, and / or in partnership with patients.

2. Improved access, experience and outcomes for underserved communities: innovative projects, services or products to support, for example, people living in rural and remote areas, people with disabilities and / or and Black and minority ethnic communities.

3. Frontline innovations: innovative projects, services or products developed by staff at more junior levels, that are benefiting patient care, resolving unmet needs, or demonstrate collaborative working.

4. Medical Technology: innovative medical devices, equipment or therapies that support EMAHSN’s clinical priorities including cancer, frail older people, stroke rehabilitation, mental health, diabetes and obesity.

5. Technology Enabled Care Services: innovations with potential to transform the way people engage in and control their own healthcare, empowering them to manage it in a way that is right for them. Innovations could include Telehealth, telecare, telemedicine / teleconsultations, telecoaching and self-care apps.

6. Innovation through integration: innovative projects, services or products developed in partnership that support one or more of the following: address an unmet need, deliver a better experience or care for patients, build people’s independence or improve access and experiences of underserved communities.

Click here to submit your entry. Deadline is 14 August.