Current Students and Staff

// University News

27 Feb 2015

Nominate rising stars in recognition of their academic and non-academic achievements

The University is calling on staff and local residents to shine a light on the students who they feel deserve recognition for academic success, non-academic achievements and community involvement.

Staff members are invited to nominate students for the Sir Robert Martin University Prize – the premier award of the University which consists of £1,500 plus a commemorative medal. It is awarded to an outstanding student in recognition of both their academic and non-academic achievement.

In addition to the Prize, two Sir Robert Martin Achievement Prizes, of £1,000 each, are available to outstanding students. The deadline for nominations is Friday 27 March 2015. More information is available by visiting the link here.

Meanwhile, local residents are encouraged to nominate students they feel have gone the extra mile to establish good working relationships with the community by the deadline of Friday 20 March 2015.

The TS Shipman Prize of £800 is given to students of the University or College who are considered to have contributed most to the development of co-operation and aid between the institutions and the local community. The prize comes from a fund presented to the University by the TS Shipman Trust, established by the former joint Managing Director of Leicester company AA Jones and Shipman – one of the largest machine tool manufacturers in Britain in the 1960s.

The Hannah Community Prize of £500 seeks to recognise students for showing acts of kindness or for general good neighbourliness. The award uses funds originally bequeathed to the University in memory of George Alexander Hannah who studied at Loughborough during his retirement.

An awards ceremony will be held later in the year to honour and thank the chosen students for their contributions.

Nominations for the two awards can be made by any Loughborough resident and should be submitted to

A nomination form is available on the University website by visiting the link here.