Current Students and Staff

// University News

TS Shipman Prize winners - May 2014

20 May 2014

Outstanding community volunteering efforts honoured by University

Outstanding volunteers from campus and the wider community have been honoured by the University at its annual community prizes ceremony.

The ceremony took place at the Town Hall on 14 May.  Prizes were awarded to students of the University who have taken part in volunteering activity and cheques were presented from the Community Donations Fund to local groups to support wide ranging community initiatives across the Borough.

The student prizes were the TS Shipman Prize and Hannah Community Prize.  They recognise the development of co-operation and aid between the University and the Community and acts of kindness or good neighbourliness.

Receiving the T S Shipman Prize were: Rebecca Deakin, Stephanie Noble, Kate Saunders and Richard Thompson.

The recipients of the Hannah Community Prize were: The Loughborough Students’ Union Community Committee (Ellie Gyuarova, Gosia Ganter, Leah Olivia Downing, Bernice Bruce, Liam Peoples, Maddy Boulton, Sarah Millyard) and Lloyd Smith.

Community Donations Fund cheques were presented to: Abel Camp, Charnwood Talking News, Loughborough Council of Faiths, Loughborough War Memorial Museum Trust, Minnie’s Friends, Oaks in Charnwood Senior Citizens Club, Shepshed ALLeY Group, Warning Zone, Wenlo Riding for the Disabled Group, Age UK Leicestershire & Rutland, the 1st Nanpantan Scout Group and 8th Loughborough Brownies/Rainbows.

The University’s Chief Operating Officer, Richard Taylor presented the awards.  Joining Richard at the ceremony was the Mayor of Charnwood, Councillor Paul Day and other local dignitaries.