Loughborough University
Leicestershire, UK
LE11 3TU
+44 (0)1509 222222
Loughborough University

University Governance

University Ordinances

Ordinance XXI

Appointments of Deans of Schools and Tenure of Office

(Version effective from 2 July 2015)

  1. Deans of Schools shall be appointed on the recommendation of a Joint Committee of Senate and Council chaired by the Vice-Chancellor in accordance with procedures approved by Council on the recommendation of the Senate. Deans shall hold office for such periods and on such terms and conditions and shall have such functions as the Council may from time to time determine, after receiving the advice of the Vice-Chancellor.
  2. The procedures approved by Senate and Council also make provision for acting appointments where there is a vacancy or a temporary absence or inability of a Dean.


Details of the appointment procedure are documented in the Committee Handbook - Annex 10.