School of Sport, Exercise and Health Sciences


21 Jul 2021

Loughborough Academic Awards winners announced

The winners of the 2021 Loughborough Academic Awards have now been announced, celebrating those that have greatly contributed to the makeup of the student-staff partnership at Loughborough University.

Staff and students from the School of Sport, Exercise and Health Sciences are among those recognised.

SSEHS award winners were:

  • Lorraine Cale
    PVC(T)'s Unsung Hero Award - This award is to recognise individuals who have made major contributions to learning and teaching within the University.

  • Louise Smith
    DSF Award

Other nominees from the School were:

  • Alejandro Arguelles
    Department Committee Chair of the Year - This award is to recognise a passionate, committed, and enthusiastic individual who has been a great leader to their Committee. They must have been a voice for their School or Department, created inks with students, staff and stakeholders, as well as encouraged a cohesive environment in which their Committee has been able to excel.

  • Amy Longster
    Department Committee Member of the Year - recognises an individual from a Department Committee who has stood out and been an amazing asset to their team and their Department or School as a whole. This individual is likely to have supported all areas of Department life with the students’ interests at the forefront of what they do.

  • Jaiden Denney
    Peer Support Student Coordinator of the Year - The Student Coordinator of the year would have led their team of volunteers with commitment, enthusiasm, and creativity. They would have been diligent in ensuring the Peer Mentors and Peer Assisted Learning (PAL)Facilitators are kept informed, updated, and involved in supporting students in their area. They would have actively sought out ways in which to engage the stakeholders in the scheme and worked to contribute to a strong learning community.
  • Jonathan Langley, Kieran Wonnacott, Jonathon Mok, Laurence Pleuger and Gennotan Reggian
    Peer Assisted Learning Facilitator of the Year - The PAL Facilitator of the Year would have facilitated a study group through their module and encouraged independent learning and problem-solving. They would have been completely dedicated to their role, prepared well for each session, led engaging and helpful discussions and activities, as well as built a strong partnership with the staff within their Department.

  • Sarabjit Mastana
    Academic Champion of the Year - This award recognises a member of staff for their efforts in championing and implementing Peer Support within their Programme, Department or School. The winner of this award would have tailored the schemes to the needs of their subject area and their students. They would have assisted in promoting the schemes and encouraged volunteers and recipients alike to get involved. In addition, they would have championed the schemes to colleagues, communicating with other members of staff the benefits of being an ambassador.

  • Alex Thurston and David Maidment
    Excellence in Teaching Award - This award recognises a member of academic staff who contributes tremendously towards the education experience at Loughborough University and takes pride in their learning and teaching. The nominees for the award must have presented themselves with commitment and support towards the development of academic excellence. They would have shown innovation in their teaching, as well as commitment to their students and to the Loughborough experience.

The School was also nominated for two awards:

  • Department Committee of the Year - This award recognises the efforts of the student-led Department Committee that has gone above and beyond to enhance the student experience within their Department and School, as well as positively impact their learning community. Additionally, this Committee has succeeded in working closely with University colleagues and fellow Education volunteers, to strengthen the student-staff partnership.

  • Senior Volunteer Team of the Year - This senior volunteer team will consist of a minimum of one Department Committee Chair, School President, and Peer Support Student Coordinator that have developed a fantastic working relationship this year. They will have kept in regular communication and may have collaborated on an educational event or initiative that has impacted their learning community’s experience in a positive way.