School of Business and Economics


2 Nov 2017

Academic excellence awards honours outstanding SBE students

group of people

Students Daniel Etienne, BSc Management Sciences, and Dhanya Weerasinghe Kularatne, BSc Accounting and Financial Management, were awarded scholarships for academic excellence at a celebratory dinner held at Loughborough University on Monday 23 October.

The awards were presented to the highest performing students and recognised outstanding performance amongst undergraduates from each academic School. Students in each year of study, with the exemption of finalist students, were honoured.

Amongst the 22 Loughborough students awarded, two SBE students, Daniel Etienne and Dhanya Weerasinghe Kularatne, were presented with a certificate and cheque for £500 at the celebratory dinner which was held in the Hazlerigg Building.

SBE Associate Dean for Teaching Professor Alberto Franco commented:

“We are always pleased to see our students receiving these important university awards every year. Daniel demonstrates how a  passion for doing competitive sports does not deter you from achieving excellent academic performance; whereas Dhanya's performance is an outstanding model of consistency at the highest level, having won this particular award in two consecutive years. We are truly proud of both their achievements.“

Loughborough University’s Pro Vice-Chancellor for Teaching Professor Rachel Thomson said:

“We are delighted to celebrate academic excellence in our undergraduate students for another year. The awards recognise the continual hard work our students put in and it’s important they are rewarded for this."

Watch the video to find out more about some of the students who have been awarded this year.

The academic achievement awards are one of many presented by the University, Schools and the Students’ Union. Other awards include the Sir Robert Martin Prize, Loughborough Experience Awards, Development Trust Prizes, Graduate School Prizes, Graduate School Research Student Prizes and various sponsored awards in Schools.