School of Business and Economics


16 Mar 2016

2016 SBE Dean’s Awards Dinner Recap

The Dean with alumna Sarah Branquinho

On 25th February the School celebrated the achievements of staff, students and alumni at its annual awards dinner. The evening was held in the Sir Denis Rooke building with more than 120 attendees.

This year, the Distinguished Alumni Awards went to:

  • Tony Denunzio, Non-Executive Chairman of Pets At Home Plc, who graduated in 1982 with a degree in Business Administration and Languages. Tony has also held high-profile positions at many other large companies including Alliance Boots and Maxeda.
  • Ian Shepherdson, Chief Economist of Pantheon Macroeconomics (an independent research firm founded in 2012 providing subscription-based research to global financial institutions from its offices in Newcastle, New York and London). Ian gained his BSc and PhD from the School in 1988 and 1993 respectively.
  • Sarah Branquinho, Corporate Communications and External Affairs Director at World Duty Free, who graduated in 1978 with a degree in French, German and Economics. Sarah has 30 years’ experience in the duty free industry, first at Tax Free World Association and presently at BAA and its retail company World Duty Free, where her remit for business relations, external affairs and corporate communications has grown with the company.

This year’s Staff Awards went to:

  • Professor Mark Freeman – Researcher of the Year
  • Dr Chris Wilson – Teacher of the Year
  • Dr Dan Sage – Early Career Researcher of the Year
  • Dr Luke Garrod - Early Career Teacher of the Year
  • Dr Belinda Dewsnap – Outstanding Contribution (Academic)
  • Malika Lawrance – Outstanding Contribution (Non-Academic) (1)
  • Jo Higham – Outstanding Contribution (Non-Academic) (2)
  • Professor L. Alberto Franco – Impact on Practice (1)
  • Professor Gilberto Montibeller – Impact on Practice (2)

And finally, this year’s Student Awards went to:

  • Jennifer Mathieson – Deans Award for Student Excellence (1)
  • Alexander Brown – Deans Award for Student Excellence (2)
  • Sahil Jhamb – Deans Award for Student Enterprise
  • Ella Vega – Deans Award for Student Employability
  • Naomi Kelly – Doctoral Student of the Year (1)
  • Josh Morton – Doctoral Student of the Year (2)
  • Michael Vaughan – Deans Award for MBA Student of the Year

The evening was compered by Professor Jim Saker, and the keynote speech ‘Carpe Diem – How did I get here?’ was given by the Chief Executive of the Building Societies Association, Robin Feith.

All in all, it was a wonderful evening celebrating the achievements of staff, students and graduates of the School of Business and Economics.