Executive Education


19 Mar 2019

2019 Dean's Awards Dinner celebrates outstanding graduates, students and staff

Wing Yip Awards

On 7th March 2019, the School of Business and Economics held its annual Dean's Awards Dinner, recognising the outstanding contributions of School staff and students as well as three inspiring alumni. 

The School's Dean, Professor Stewart Robinson, said:

"Once again, the annual awards dinner was a wonderful evening at which we were able to celebrate the successes of our staff, students and alumni.  I am always amazed at the achievements of those that engage with our School."

Alumni Paul Holohan, Michael Tye and Andrew King were all given Distinguished Alumni Awards for their inspiring careers.

Paul Holohan, a graduate of the Loughborough MBA in 1996, was recognised for his 30 years of experience in the printing and packaging industry at CEO and Managing Director level. He travelled across the globe to conduct research and went on to sell his business at what proved to be an optimal time. Paul is a Chartered Marketer, a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Marketing and a Fellow of the Institute of Direct Marketing, as well as serving on the School of Business and Economics' Strategic Advisory Board. 

Michael Tye graduated in 1976 with a degree in Management Sciences. His award was in recognisition for his successful and transformative career in the retail industry. He is currently Chairman of Moto Hospitality Group, Chairman of Haulfryn Group, Vice Chair of Prostate Cancer UK and a non-executive director of TRG Plc. 

Andrew King graduated with a Loughborough MBA in 2005. He was recognised for his exceptional contribution to the food and beverage industry. Andrew is a fast-moving consumer goods (FMCG) specialist with 18 years’ board-level experience. He has been the CEO of four food and drink businesses, and he holds several non-executive board roles. Andrew also holds non-executive roles at Edward Billington & Sons, TSC Foods Ltd, Mercer Farms and Moma Foods. In addition, Andrew is director of a local community charity, Long Clawson Recreation Ground Limited, a community project that successfully raised £1m to build and run a community sports and education facility in the Vale of Belvoir, and a trustee of The Hunter Trust, a Leicestershire-based charity focussed on supporting disadvantaged local children.


The Dean's Awards to Students went to:

  • Dean's Award for Enterprise, supported by ByBox
    Simone Knowles (International Business BSc)
  • Dean's Award for Student Employability:
    Lucy Bowden (Retailing, Marketing and Management BSc)
  • Dean's Award for International Student of the Year:
    Gabriel De la Gorce (International Business BSc)
  • Dean's Award for Corporate Social Responsibility:
    Jake Brown (Management Sciences BSc)
  • Dean's Award for Outstanding Achievement:
    Will Wedgwood (International Business BSc)
  • Dean's Award for Executive Education:
    Faizah Tahir (Skipton Building Society)

In addition, 2019 saw the launch of two new awards for students: the Wing Yip group project prize and individual prize awards. Brian Yip and Albert Yip, both directors at Wing Yip, the UK's largest Oriental grocery business, presented these awards to a group of first-year business undergraduate students who exceeded in the 'live case' project, as part of their Introduction to Retail Management module. 

The Wing Yip awards went to:

  • The Wing Yip Group Project Prize:
    Matthew Hosking, Dillon Jadva, Hannah Hawkins, Amy Whitaker and Arvin Bains
  • The Wing Yip Individual Prize:
    Katherine Martin (pictured here with Brian and Albert Yip)

To learn more about the Wing Yip projects, click here.


The Dean's Awards to Staff went to:

  • Early Career Researcher of the Year: Dr Jim Crick
  • Impact on Practice: Dr Maria Nieswand
  • Doctoral Student of the Year: Dayle Childs


The School is extremely proud of its staff, students and graduates!